Another question about unmarked breakers.

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-27-15, 08:45 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,857
Another question about unmarked breakers.

Ok, so this rental has no labels or anything for what powers what. I'll eventually get around to checking when it's warmer, but for now what about these big ones.

There are 2 50s and a 30. I found one 50 was for the package unit on the roof...I turned the heat up and then went out and flipped them one at a time til the furnace kicked off.

So now I have a 30 and a 50 to figure out. Like many houses out here appliances are set up for gas or electric. Gas range right now and no dryer yet.

Am I right in thinking the 30 would be for the dryer and the 50 for the range?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-27-15, 08:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
Yes.... 30 for dryer and 50 for range. Gas water heater ?
 
  #3  
Old 02-27-15, 09:27 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,857
Yeah gas WH, that doesn't have 2 possible sources. I thought I had it right, but I was surprised to see the HVAC on a 50A actually. It's gas heat and A/C on the roof. I thought the 30A may have been the one for it initially.
 
  #4  
Old 02-27-15, 09:37 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,451
A 30amp breaker could be for A/C, but isn't in your case. Whenever I see a 30amp, I immediately think of cook top, A/C, or a subpanel if that's suspected.
 
  #5  
Old 02-27-15, 10:06 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,468
50A for a packaged gas unit is big.
 
  #6  
Old 02-27-15, 10:14 PM
Gunguy45's Avatar
Super Moderator
Thread Starter
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: USA
Posts: 20,857
That's what I thought. My ex-house is about 500 sf bigger than this place and I'm pretty sure the unit was only on a 40A...maybe even a 30A, even though I'm sure it was a higher capacity. I'll have to look next time I'm back over there.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'