one or two switches


  #1  
Old 03-04-15, 09:59 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 381
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
one or two switches

I am installing a new propane furnace in Ontario Canada, I just did this at my sons house and I was told I needed a switch near the door to the furnace room for an emergency shut off but now I have a question about the switch.

I am currently installing a new furnace at my farm and this furnace room is a room between the house and the attached shed so there is a door to the house and to the shed, my question, do I need a three way switch at each door as a furnace shut off or would one at the house door be enough as the furnace is only heating the house and not the shop?
 
  #2  
Old 03-04-15, 10:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,890
Received 3,154 Likes on 2,834 Posts
Put a service switch at the house side.

If you needed more than one they are not wired as a three way circuit. Each switch is a single pole switch and all must be up for the furnace to operate.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-15, 10:13 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 381
Likes: 0
Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Thank You, I will wire with one switch at the house side. If I require another it will be simple to add if the inspector requires it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: