one or two switches

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-04-15, 09:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 381
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
one or two switches

I am installing a new propane furnace in Ontario Canada, I just did this at my sons house and I was told I needed a switch near the door to the furnace room for an emergency shut off but now I have a question about the switch.

I am currently installing a new furnace at my farm and this furnace room is a room between the house and the attached shed so there is a door to the house and to the shed, my question, do I need a three way switch at each door as a furnace shut off or would one at the house door be enough as the furnace is only heating the house and not the shop?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-04-15, 10:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 54,166
Received 475 Votes on 445 Posts
Put a service switch at the house side.

If you needed more than one they are not wired as a three way circuit. Each switch is a single pole switch and all must be up for the furnace to operate.
 
  #3  
Old 03-04-15, 10:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: ontario canada
Posts: 381
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thank You, I will wire with one switch at the house side. If I require another it will be simple to add if the inspector requires it.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: