How do I test the voltage in my exhaust fan?

Old 03-05-15, 12:20 AM
How do I test the voltage in my exhaust fan?

Hey guys,

I'll be replacing my kitchen's exhaust fan (it's a LUFTIG from IKEA). So this means disconnecting the wires. But naturally, I want to make sure that I don't electrocute myself.

I'll be getting a voltmeter/multimeter, but I have no idea how to test my exhaust fan for electric activity. I've checked several Youtube videos, and while many of them do a great job showing you how to check your batteries there don't seem to be any that show you how to test your appliances' wires before you start touching them.

Here's the exhaust fan's underside:

And another photo:

• Where do I place the test probes? Directly on the wire? On the circuit board?
  • Do I select AC for the multimeter's settings? And what scale of measurement is most appropriate for this type of appliance?

I'm really new to the world of wiring and electronics (I'm a software developer, for cryin' out loud). Help me avoid getting electrocuted while replacing this exhaust fan!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-05-15, 03:42 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Check between the open holes of the push in connectors between white and black.

Old 03-05-15, 03:43 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
To test if there is voltage at the exhaust fan, turn the fan and light on. IF they don't come on, you have no voltage. You can then remove the yellow bcaps and test across the black and white wire with your multimeter. If it is an analog meter, set it to 200 volts or so (higher than expected voltage) AC and test it. The needle will move if you have voltage.

Old 03-05-15, 08:42 AM
Thanks for the fast responses, guys.

chandler- after replacing the bcaps, do I put both the red and black test probe on the black wire, then the white wite? Or is it black probe on black, and red prod on white?