Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Measuring the resistance of the buttons on a steering wheel

Old 03-08-15, 09:37 PM

Hi guys. I need to measure the resistance values of the buttons on the steering wheel of my car, so that I use the buttons on my stock steering wheel to control an aftermarket radio/head unit.

How do I measure the resistance of a steering wheel button using a digital multimeter? I don't currently have the steering wheel installed yet, so can I measure the resistance of the buttons without the steering wheel being installed and hooked into the ignition/electronics of the car? I'm an electrical newbie, so any detailed instructions on how to measure the resistance of a button is greatly appreciated.

Thanks a million!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-08-15, 09:41 PM
Group Moderator
Usually infinity or continuity.

I deleted your thread in Autos. If you feel it will be better there I'll move this one.

Old 03-08-15, 10:21 PM
Group Moderator
I don't know of any aftermarket radio that uses the resistances from the wheel to operate it. OEM radios get the signal from the vehicle computer thru a data stream.

Measuring the resistances is first a matter of finding which wires to check. Does your steering wheel use a clock spring to connect the wheel to the car ?

Old 03-09-15, 04:07 AM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Additionally, if yours is like mine, there is a single wire from the steering column to the radio that carries all the signals to the head. Volume up-down, on-off, mode select, track up-down, are all controlled via that one wire. So resistances may not be helpful at all. As Pete stated I don't know of any aftermarket radio that utilizes wheel input.

Old 03-09-15, 06:44 AM
The buttons themselves are simple single pole switches comparable to doorbell push buttons.