Wiring a table saw


  #1  
Old 03-13-15, 06:55 PM
A
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wiring a table saw

I have a Delta table saw that has a 230v 20 amp motor. I am wondering what size wire and breaker to run for this. i will run this across the top of my basement and up into the wall of the garage. Do I need to put this into conduit to get through the garage wall as well? Thanks
 
  #2  
Old 03-13-15, 07:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,055
Received 2,953 Votes on 2,664 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

If it is exposed in the garage it should be in pipe. If it's inside the garage wall just NM cable would be fine.

240v at 20A sounds a little high. The motor should only draw around 10A at 240vac.
For anything under 15A motor load.... #12 would be fine.
 
  #3  
Old 03-13-15, 07:43 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 11,149
Received 164 Votes on 147 Posts
I have a Delta table saw that has a 230v 20 amp motor
What is motor horsepower?
 
  #4  
Old 03-14-15, 04:08 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,964
Received 9 Votes on 8 Posts
We'll wait on the OP to respond, but my Delta Unisaw at 5hp may run as much as 20 amps. I only have it protected at 20 amps on 240 volts and it operates fine. He may be reading FLA, too.
 
  #5  
Old 03-14-15, 04:47 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,583
Received 154 Votes on 140 Posts
What does the mfg. recommend for wire size and breaker?
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 03-14-15, 07:12 AM
W
Member
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 6,911
Received 51 Votes on 46 Posts
Wiring

Do I need to put this into conduit to get through the garage wall as well? Thanks
All wiring passing through masonry walls must be in conduit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: