New Landscape Lighting Questions


  #1  
Old 03-15-15, 06:43 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 303
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
New Landscape Lighting Questions

So we are looking to add low voltage landscape lighting to our house. By the front door of the house there is already a switch for the outside porch lights. The lights are under a roof however. I know I am not supposed to have more than one circuit within a switch box but I'd like the switch for the transformer to be in the same box as the existing switch. What I am wondering is what I can do to make that happen.

My first thought is to convert the existing circuit to a GFCI circuit and just add in a run from the switch box to the outdoor transformer. The other idea would be to put the transformer inside the house and just run the low voltage to the outside. Any ideas would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 03-15-15, 07:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
I am not supposed to have more than one circuit within a switch box
No rule against two (or more) circuits. In fact it is common in certain circumstances. Do you mean a 120 volt switch for the primary side of the LV transformer but low voltage lights are not usually controlled by a switch. Can you tell us more about your plans.
 
  #3  
Old 03-15-15, 08:04 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 303
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yeah I was thinking about switching the 120 side so that I could turn them off if I wanted. Front lights being on a photocell could be OK, but the patio lights in back I'd like to switch. Switching the 120 seems like the appropriate thing to do.

I'm also considering adding a outdoor 120 outlet in a bed (for Christmas lights).
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-15, 12:05 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,639
Received 3,892 Upvotes on 3,489 Posts
Keep the front and back lights on different transformers. You could consider adding a timer next to your existing lighting switch. The timer can be set up for manual operation or multi programmed lighting times. The link below is one of my recommendations.

ST01 Series
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: