How to test 110/220 V on a PC


  #1  
Old 03-16-15, 11:54 AM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
How to test 110/220 V on a PC

I questioned if this question should go under the computer category but felt it is better here.
I bought a computer in Taiwan which in the back has a switch for both 110v or 220v which I thought was good since it can be used there, or Canada/USA. And I thought should I move to Europe or China I could just flip the switch and not buy an adapter. I am now in a position to do exactly that--move to China where 220V is used instead of 110v. And then I got worried and asked myself, considering the importance of my PC can I trust the switch? Which then begged the question, Can such a thing be tested, and if so, how?
Thank you
 
  #2  
Old 03-16-15, 12:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 70,163
Received 2,973 Votes on 2,682 Posts
Just make sure the switch is fully in the direction you want it in. There isn't a way of pre-testing that I know of.

You'll also need a power cord that matches the location you're moving to.

Name:  switch.jpg
Views: 1177
Size:  43.7 KB
 
  #3  
Old 03-16-15, 12:16 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
You could buy an autosensing power supply which usually can adapt to a range of 100-220V automatically.
 
  #4  
Old 03-16-15, 01:36 PM
P
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 8
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks guys. :-)
PJmax, so you would trust the switch, is this correct? And as to, ''power cord that matches the location you're moving to'' Do you mean the wiring inside is different or just the plug. I assumed I could just change the plug (add a little thing in the front that switches flat tongues for example to round ones).
ibpoks: Not knowing what an ''autosensing power supply'' is made me look it up. I would think therefore that mine which has a switch is not auto-sensing, but should do the job. And if autosensing simply means the Power supply will sense it automatically and convert automatically on its own, then why not just buy a 110v/220v converter?
I don't know why I haven't thought of it before but I will contact the manufacturer of my power supply and see what they have to say. Meanwhile if anyone does find out a way to test it please let me know.
 
  #5  
Old 03-16-15, 03:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
The female end of the power cord is the same for all countries. Only the male (plug) end is different. You just buy to fit the local receptacle.
 
  #6  
Old 03-17-15, 06:26 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,941
Received 45 Votes on 43 Posts
Yes yours will work as long as you move the switch to the right position for the country you're in. No need to worry about it, this is very reliable technology.

The nice part about an autosensing power supply is that you don't have to remember to make the switch and it works on a wider voltage range. It is very handy for people who travel a lot.
 
  #7  
Old 03-17-15, 09:46 AM
A
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,931
Received 215 Votes on 198 Posts
The least expensive method is to buy a little adapter thing that switches flat tongues for example to round ones.

You still have to remember to flip the 110/220 switch on the back of your computer.

Whether you buy an external 110v/220v (120v/240v) converter to daisy chain with or buy an autosensing power supply to swap out the existing power supply for, either would work too but probably cost more.

Many ways to skin a cat.
 
  #8  
Old 03-17-15, 09:54 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
The least expensive method is to buy a little adapter thing that switches flat tongues for example to round ones. - See more at: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el....XGzD7HMT.dpuf
Using the correct cord for the country makes as much sense and probably as cheap.

Examples:
New Dell 2M UK Ireland Type G BS 1363 to C13 Computer Power Cable Cord 016583 | eBay

6ft England UK Computer Monitor Power Cord Fuse BS 1363 to C13 | eBay

Name:  m9xt4SZ0QvjQRCCx6IVFMcw.jpg
Views: 316
Size:  7.5 KB

European:
http://www.ebay.com/itm/HO5VV-F-3-Pr...item43d8d78c0c
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: