Landscape Lights and Garage Door Openers on Same Circuit?


  #1  
Old 03-18-15, 06:50 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 165
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Landscape Lights and Garage Door Openers on Same Circuit?

I have a little puzzle that needs solving. I am installing landscape lights for the front of the house. Because they are LED, the entire array is only about 70 watts, and will driven by just a 120w transformer.

The most central location for the transformer is to mount it on the inside of the column that divides my two single-car garage doors. But there's no outlet there, or anywhere near the front of the garage (this is my second house where no such outlet was installed at the front of the garage, and it is a very annoying oversight).

So, I either install an outlet there, or I run a long extension cord up and over to an outlet. I'd obviously prefer to have an outlet there.

The garage is fully finished, so I'm trying to figure out the simplest and shortest way to run the wire. The nearest outlets I could daisy-chain off of are the outlets installed in the ceiling for the two garage door openers. These outlets tie into a light switch set high up on the wall by the door leading from the attached garage to the house. (I've never seen garage opener outlets put on a switch before, but I guess that's a security/safety feature?)

Given that I only have a 120w transformer, I don't think I need or want a designated circuit for the landscape lights, which would cost a lot of money to wire. But if I daisy-chain off the garage door opener outlets, will that cause my lights to dim/flicker every time I run an opener? The openers are little Craftsman 1/2 HP units.
 
  #2  
Old 03-18-15, 07:56 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Most landscape lighting transformers are not rated for inside use. They should be installed outside to an outside receptacle with an in-use cover.
 
  #3  
Old 03-18-15, 09:30 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 165
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Mine is approved for indoor use. So I'm mounting it in the most secure, weatherproof, and centralized spot - just inside my garage, but I need an outlet, which was my question. Any help would be appreciated.
 
  #4  
Old 03-18-15, 09:42 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
if I daisy-chain off the garage door opener outlets, will that cause my lights to dim/flicker every time I run an opener?
It shouldn't if the circuit is not heavily loaded but do you open and close the garage door that often when the lights would be in use?
 
  #5  
Old 03-19-15, 07:25 AM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 165
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Yes, we lead busy lives and often arrive home after the lights would already be on.

But as I look at it more, I may have a different plan but the same issue. I have five outlets on the back and side walls of the garage that are on a dedicated 15amp circuit. The first outlet on the run is GFI. It would require a longer romex run, but I am thinking of just daisy-chaining one additional outlet off this existing GFI-protected run.

I don't use any of these outlets during the evening except for one item - a medium-size, less than 10 year old garage refrigerator that draws maybe 250w. So again, my only concern would be whether the lights will flicker every time the fridge kicks on/off. Do you think that would happen if that's the only other draw on an 1800w circuit?
 
  #6  
Old 03-19-15, 08:03 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
I think you are worrying about a non issue but even if you aren't I am not understanding why a slight flicker occasionally is an issue. Perhaps someone else can better help you. My advice is just wire it what ever way is easiest. No one can be sure there won't be a slight flicker till after wired and tested.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-19-15 at 08:40 AM.
  #7  
Old 03-19-15, 09:29 PM
M
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 165
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I decided to just do a little test tonight. Plugged a lamp with a 150w bulb into the outlet I plan to tie into. Then opened up the fridge on the same circuit and waited for it to cycle on. No flicker. That gives me more confidence.
 
  #8  
Old 03-19-15, 10:07 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,575
Received 15 Votes on 13 Posts
Good idea testing like that.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: