Wiring a sub-panel in my garage


  #1  
Old 03-22-15, 05:04 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wiring a sub-panel in my garage

I am going to run power to my detached garage that is 88' from my house, but I keep seeing conflicting opinions on what size wire to run for 100A service. It looks like I will need #2 THHN with a #6 ground, but can I go smaller, like #4? I'm only planning on using a 60A breaker at first, but since I only plan on running the wire once as it will be buried, I want the ability to add to the sub-panel as I will eventually be running power to our barn as well, which will only be a few lights and 2-3 outlets.

Concerning the conduit, will 1" be big enough, and is 18" burial depth deep enough?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 03-22-15, 05:38 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,980
Received 196 Upvotes on 172 Posts
What loads will you have in the garage? A 60 amp sub panel may be more than enough.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-15, 07:40 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,082
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
If you use #2 you will need 1 1/4" sechedule 40. 18" deep, I assume you are thinking #2 Al.
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-15, 07:53 PM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The loads at the moment won't be that high, mainly outlets and lighting with some power tool useage, but nothing too taxing and not all at the same time. I'm not sure which would be better when it comes to the wire: copper or aluminum. I am planning on using a 60A breaker initially and then upping it if needed in the future.
 
  #5  
Old 03-23-15, 07:41 AM
Z
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Virginia
Posts: 7
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
After doing some research, It would seem that 100A service is overkill for anything I'll be doing in the garage. What size wire should I use for 60A service with aluminum?

As I stated before, I won't be loading the sub too much. I will eventually have a table saw and a window A/C unit, but as far as large loads go, that'll be about it. The garage is only about 450 sq. feet and I'll be using LED lighting.
 
  #6  
Old 03-23-15, 08:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Copper three #6 and #10 ground.
Aluminum three #4 and #8 ground.
#6 copper for the GEC.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: