New Stove to the Panel

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-22-15, 11:19 AM
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 360
New Stove to the Panel

I have a panel needing another line for a 220V stove. The panel currently has a 30a breaker for the dryer, a 2 pole 20a for the central AC, in addition to about 10 other 15a or 20a single breakers. It's a 100A panel. My question is whether a new panel or sub panel is needed? Could the main breaker blow otherwise?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-22-15, 11:50 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,676
A subpanel wouldn't change the load on the main breaker. Are there no open soaces in your panel. Do you know if it is rated for tandems? If not give us the make and model number and someone will probably be able to answer that. You probably have enough capacity. If the panel is full then a subpanel is the way to go.

Technical info: Your house doesn't have 220. It has 240 and the stove would need 120/240, a 4-wire circuit.
 
  #3  
Old 03-22-15, 11:58 AM
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 360
Yes it has 6 or more open spaces and already 2 pole breakers in there. It's a 100A Cutler Hammer. But if you have the dryer, central AC plus the frig and a few other circuits drawing power......I'm trying to understand....won't we exceed 100A?
 
  #4  
Old 03-22-15, 12:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,676
won't we exceed 100A?
No. Total load on the panel isn't determined by adding up the breakers. It is determined by what actual loads may be in use at any time. Most of the 120v 15a and 20a breakers probably have less then 5 amps on them at any time and some no load part of the time. Even on the 240v circuits actual load is probably less then 80% and intermittent. You can do a load calc if you want. Here is one load calc and you can Google for others if you want. http://www.docstoc.com/docs/97696973...lt-Enterprises
 
  #5  
Old 03-22-15, 01:25 PM
Gen
Gen is offline
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: US
Posts: 360
Very helpful.....thank you
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'