Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

What gauge wire do I need for 240 volt 50 amp also will this breaker box work.

What gauge wire do I need for 240 volt 50 amp also will this breaker box work.


  #1  
Old 03-25-15, 10:52 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
What gauge wire do I need for 240 volt 50 amp also will this breaker box work.

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 3655
Size:  44.3 KBguess I need to start over. Uploading pictures deleted my text

I want to run a dedicated line to garage for 220 volts on 50 amp breaker. This is for a stick welder. What gauge wire do I need? Which wire hooks up where?? Breaker and receptacle. And then I have picture of my breaker box. Will it work with 50 amp breaker on lower left side? Thanks in advance
Dean
 
Attached Images   
  #2  
Old 03-25-15, 11:56 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
If it is a detached garage and you have lights and receptacles the feed for that will need to be abandoned and a subpanel installed at the garage. You can only have one feed to a detached structure.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-15, 02:16 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It's an attached garage. All the outlets are fed by this box. I just need to run about 20 feet of wiring from the box to attached garage.
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-15, 02:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
6-2 NM-b on a 50 amp breaker.

(Note the NEC has special rules for welders based on duty rating that might allow smaller cable and/or beaker but going with 6-2/50a breaker is good future proofing.)
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-15, 03:17 PM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 29
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I just learned about duty ratings and understand what you're saying... and agree if you're going to go to the trouble to install a new line/outlet...you may as well make it to handle anything down the road. Thanks!! Off to get my wire/breaker/receptacle...
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: