Secure wire on new box?


  #1  
Old 03-25-15, 01:12 PM
maarkr's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 485
Received 23 Upvotes on 20 Posts
Secure wire on new box?

So they sell these plastic switch boxes with wings to make it easy to install in the wall... just cut a hole the size of the box, run the wire in the slots and push into the wall... tighten the screws... voila!
How in the heck are you supposed to secure the wire by code if you use these things? You don't have room to get a hammer etc thru the hole you cut for the box??? and esp securing the wire 4 1/2' up the wall if you add an outlet?
 
  #2  
Old 03-25-15, 02:23 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
There's two sets of standards for work being done under the NEC: work in new construction ("new work") and renovation/retrofit work done in existing structures after wall finishes (e.g. drywall, plaster, paneling, etc.) have been installed ("old work").

The standards for supporting and securing wire apply in new work mainly to protect the newly installed wiring from overeager drywallers and their nailguns.

They do not generally apply in old work (look for the exceptions in the code articles marked "may be fished") if the wall covering has been applied.

Now if you're adding an outlet in a finished room and dropping the cable into the unfinished basement below to run to the panel, then the part of the cable passing through the unfinished basement would need to be secured per code.
 
  #3  
Old 03-25-15, 02:29 PM
maarkr's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 485
Received 23 Upvotes on 20 Posts
u know, I want to be 100% legal, so fished thru the stud into the plastic box is OK??? yeah, baby...
 
  #4  
Old 03-25-15, 02:41 PM
E
Member
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 38
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Cut hole in the wall, drill through the sole plate or through the top plate (from above or below as needed), drop wire or fish tape through.

Heck there are even retro-fit outlet kits that can be installed in a hole made by a hole saw.

Now if you can secure the wire, you should. For instance, I ended up making a 4"x4" outlet box hole next to the stud. I may try to reach in and fasten the wire if it's do-able.
 
  #5  
Old 03-25-15, 04:19 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 16,321
Received 38 Upvotes on 30 Posts
Old work boxes have a specially designed clamp that holds the cable secure to the box. Be sure to NOT defeat this feature when installing the cable and you will be fine.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: