Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

Converting fan/light dimmer switch to a single pole switch

Converting fan/light dimmer switch to a single pole switch


  #1  
Old 03-28-15, 02:38 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Converting fan/light dimmer switch to a single pole switch

Greetings,

I am looking for some guidance regarding a new switch installation. I replaced an old fan with a new one that has a remote control. The old fan was operated by 2 dimmer knobs, one controlled the lights and the other controlled the fan. The new fan seems to be having some light problems (blinking, dimming, etc) before i can get it to work. I am assuming it's because of the old switch.

I would like to replace the old switch with a single pole switch, but I am not sure which wires go where.
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1091
Size:  23.1 KB

This is the back of the old dimmer switch. The next pic is the inside of the box. There is a black wire connecting the red wire on the old switch, a black wire connecting the black wire on the old switch, and a red wire connecting a yellow wire on the old switch. I did cap a red wire on the new fan.

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 607
Size:  29.4 KB
Not sure which wires to connect to the next switch pic.
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 545
Size:  21.7 KB
Hope this wasn't to confusing, but i believe i am way overthinking this.

Thanks for all the help.
T
 
  #2  
Old 03-28-15, 03:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The black is probably power into the old switch. The red and yellows are the switched hots out to the fan and light.
 
  #3  
Old 03-28-15, 08:39 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks for rhe reply, but i am not sure which wires to connect to the new single pole switch. Do i cap off the red and connect the two black wires?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 03-28-15, 08:45 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The hot will need to connect to one of the screws on the switch. The other two wires will connect to a short pigtail of wires that connects to the other screw on the switch.

A green or bare jumper from the metal box can ground the switch. You will need a 10-32 screw to connect to the box.
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-15, 05:51 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Do i need to pigtail or can i just cap off one of the wires?
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-15, 05:54 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
If you cap off one of the wires one function will not work.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: