Go Back  DoItYourself.com Community Forums > Electrical, AC & DC. Electronic Equipment and Computers > Electrical - AC & DC
Reload this Page >

GFI breaker tripped when installing ceiling fan and won't reset

GFI breaker tripped when installing ceiling fan and won't reset


  #1  
Old 03-29-15, 12:19 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
GFI breaker tripped when installing ceiling fan and won't reset

Okay so normally i would have shut off the breaker when installing a new fan instead I made sure the light switches were off and tested the wiring in the ceiling to make sure nothing was hot.

Took down the old generic round light and found both a red and black in the ceiling, black not being used, red feeding the light. There are three wall switches and all other rooms had been wired for fans/lights. So wiring I hooked up the ground wires, neutrals, then black to black (not previously used) and red to the blue fan wire. Put it all together, flipped the switch the light came on. Flipped the fan switch and then went to pull the chain but it was stuck so shut it all back off and undid a few pieces to free up the pull chain.

The second I pulled the fan pull chain, with the wall switch off, the whole bedroom went dark and breaker was tripped.

So, makig sure the switches were off, i shut off other lamps that were on and went to reset the breaker. It's a GFI breaker and at first I couldn't get it to the OFF position. Finally went after a few pushes. Switched it to ON and nothing, would not stay in the ON position at all...

Of course I'm doing this late night as I cant sleep and cant take the fan apart until tomorrow when Ill have some light in that room, but when I do what should I be looking for?

Trying to figure out if it could be the fan/light wiring (maybe something became disconnected) or could the breaker be bad?

Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 03-29-15, 01:56 AM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It sounds like the black wire in the ceiling wasn't being used for a reason. Were both the red & black hot? That same exact scenario happened when I was living in a 3 family house. The bathroom on the top floor was being redone. The breaker panels were on my level. One of the workers found a red wire & a black just like you did. He connected all of them & it kept blowing the breaker. I told him disconnect the red & tape it. After that it worked fine. Connect the red to the black & blue in the fan, all three together. That should fix it.
 
  #3  
Old 03-29-15, 05:57 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
Also let us know what the wiring is at the switches. If possible, since the power is off, pull the switch from the box and post a couple of good pictures showing the wiring. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...rt-images.html
 
  #4  
Old 03-29-15, 07:03 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,872
Received 185 Upvotes on 166 Posts
I am wondering why a bedroom lighting circuit would be on a GFCI breaker.
 
  #5  
Old 03-29-15, 08:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,978
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
Did you change to a fan rated box to properly support the fan?
 
  #6  
Old 03-29-15, 09:52 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Pcboss yes the box in the ceiling was already rated for a fan. The previous owner took all the nice fixtures in the house and replaced them with cheap cheap globes. I made sure all of the screws into the joist were tight that sucker wasn't moving.

CasualJoe The bedroom circuit also seems to be running the master bath wiring which has no GFI outlets (3 outlets above a double sink, 1 below, one on a wall near the bath) in fact there are no GFI outlets in the whole house. There are only 2 GFI breakers in the panel which are both labeled for the bedrooms, nothing for the kitchen and no GFI outlets there either.

Pulpo both the red and black were hot. I'll take the switches and fan down now and post some pictures. Thnaks for the help!
 
  #7  
Old 03-29-15, 10:20 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The bedroom circuit also seems to be running the master bath wiring which has no GFI outlets (3 outlets above a double sink, 1 below, one on a wall near the bath) in fact there are no GFI outlets in the whole house.
An obvious code violation if true. Bath receptacles should be on a dedicated circuit. What size are the breakers?
there are no GFI outlets in the whole house.
What about outside, basement, garage, kitchen, behind things that haven't been moved in years? Are you sure the breakers aren't AFCI? What is the age of the house?
 
  #8  
Old 03-29-15, 11:00 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Attachment 48661Attachment 48662Name:  image.jpg
Views: 2497
Size:  35.7 KBName:  image.jpg
Views: 1942
Size:  38.1 KB

The center switch with the red and black was working the light previously. The switch on the left (2black wires) and one on the right (2red wires) didn't work anything. We were trying to track down which outlet they might turn on.

The GFI breaker in the panel is a 15amp
 
  #9  
Old 03-29-15, 11:14 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1805
Size:  41.9 KB

The line coming in into the switch box on the left splits off with black going to the left switch (with the two black) and the red going to the center switch which controlled the light (1 red 1 black)

There are two other lines in the switch box. One 4 wire with the red going to the first switch and black going to a pigtail of blacks...then the bottom of the first switch has a piece of red that also goes into that balck cluster feeding the third wire set which is just black/white/copper...all of the switches pigtail into the black cluster and then all the neutrals are tied together and the grounds.

Name:  image.jpg
Views: 1882
Size:  38.8 KB
 
  #10  
Old 03-29-15, 11:29 AM
N
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 11
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I know it's me...the breaker reset and all power is working with the ceiling fan disconnected. Found light switch 1 works an outlet we had behind some furniture.

But switches 2 and 3 i still think feed the ceiling recepticle...am i way off...could there be an issue with the ceiling fan itself i wonder? The light had worked and then everything went out when i pulled the chain for the fan...
 
  #11  
Old 03-29-15, 11:43 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 36,607
Upvotes: 0
Received 9 Upvotes on 8 Posts
I've been following the thread. It appears you had trouble with the pull chain in the first place. That tells me there is something amiss in the fan from the get go. It could be in the physical switch in the fan itself.
 
  #12  
Old 03-29-15, 03:18 PM
P
Temporarily Suspended
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NY
Posts: 10,265
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I know it's me...the breaker reset and all power is working with the ceiling fan disconnected.
The ceiling fan could be defective.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: