Above sink light wiring question.


  #1  
Old 03-30-15, 09:23 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Above sink light wiring question.

Removed existing light, here is what I found. I have 3 lines, 1 is the continuation of the circuit, one is a junction off of that to provide power to a plug directly below in the basement. The 3rd line is to the switch. How can I wire in the new light to make sure I continue the power down below (unswitched) to the plug and yet wire the switch in to control the light?
 
  #2  
Old 03-30-15, 09:34 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The only connection that you should of touched was the two wires to the light. Those two wires are connected to the new lights.

Name:  Sw_Loopb-1_zps03f87552.jpg
Views: 2144
Size:  31.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-15, 10:21 AM
W
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I didn't alter anything that was done. Was just surprised, as your diagram shows, the grounds were not connected. The only problem was, all of this was done without the use of a junction box.
 
  #4  
Old 03-30-15, 10:27 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 194 Upvotes on 170 Posts
The grounds must all be connected and an approved junction box used.
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-15, 11:22 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
as your diagram shows, the grounds were not connected
Not the intent of the diagram. Grounds were only omitted for clarity. As is noted on the diagram grounds should be connected according to code..
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: