need help with wiring tanning bed

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-30-15, 08:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
need help with wiring tanning bed

I have a sonnen braune Wolff system 628 tanning bed that I bought used it does not have a manual with it it is a240 vac 60 hz with neutral single phase total wattage 3237 I'm needing to know how to wire it up
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-30-15, 08:51 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,115
Certainly not much info to go on but looks like a 20 amp 240 volt circuit would handle it.
Have you tried to contact the mfg?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-15, 09:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,430
Welcome to the forums.

Lie Geo mentioned... a 20A circuit would handle the job. You will need to run 12-3 w/ground cable.

Is there a cord and plug on the unit that you'll need to match ?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-30-15 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Corrected my correction.
  #4  
Old 03-30-15, 01:04 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Yes I have tried to contact the mfg. The number I have the company sold it to another company and apparently no one can get a number for the company
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-15, 01:08 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Yes there is a plug and cord on the unit
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-15, 01:11 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,288
Have a look at this chart and let us know which NEMA configuration matches the cord on the tanning bed. It is probably 6-15 or 6-20, but please confirm.

 
  #7  
Old 03-30-15, 01:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
It looks like it is the 14-30
 
  #8  
Old 03-30-15, 03:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
It looks like it is the 14-30
Are you saying it has four prongs? Is it a molded on plug or does it look like something someone may have added after the fact. It sounds like someone changed the plug so they could use a clothes dryer receptacle. Can you post a picture of the receptacle and if it is an add on look and see if there are only three wires connected. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html

Name:  7221.jpg
Views: 916
Size:  28.2 KB
 
  #9  
Old 03-30-15, 04:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Yes it has 4 prongs it doesn't look like someone added it it looks like it came that way. My husband checked it out it has 4 wires going to it. I can't add pic all I got is my phone Internet not a regular computer
 
  #10  
Old 03-30-15, 05:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,631
So it is not 240. It is 120/240. Okay this is over my head.
 
  #11  
Old 03-31-15, 07:52 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,288
It looks like you would install a circuit for this thing exactly like a cloths dryer. Double-pole 30A breaker in the panel, 10-3g NM-B (Romex) cable out to the bed location, and a 14-30 dryer receptacle to plug it in.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'