need help with wiring tanning bed


  #1  
Old 03-30-15, 08:46 AM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
need help with wiring tanning bed

I have a sonnen braune Wolff system 628 tanning bed that I bought used it does not have a manual with it it is a240 vac 60 hz with neutral single phase total wattage 3237 I'm needing to know how to wire it up
 
  #2  
Old 03-30-15, 08:51 AM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,082
Received 161 Upvotes on 147 Posts
Certainly not much info to go on but looks like a 20 amp 240 volt circuit would handle it.
Have you tried to contact the mfg?
Geo
 
  #3  
Old 03-30-15, 09:01 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,090
Received 3,980 Upvotes on 3,572 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Lie Geo mentioned... a 20A circuit would handle the job. You will need to run 12-3 w/ground cable.

Is there a cord and plug on the unit that you'll need to match ?
 

Last edited by ray2047; 03-30-15 at 05:00 PM. Reason: Corrected my correction.
  #4  
Old 03-30-15, 01:04 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes I have tried to contact the mfg. The number I have the company sold it to another company and apparently no one can get a number for the company
 
  #5  
Old 03-30-15, 01:08 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes there is a plug and cord on the unit
 
  #6  
Old 03-30-15, 01:11 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
Have a look at this chart and let us know which NEMA configuration matches the cord on the tanning bed. It is probably 6-15 or 6-20, but please confirm.

 
  #7  
Old 03-30-15, 01:16 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
It looks like it is the 14-30
 
  #8  
Old 03-30-15, 03:39 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
It looks like it is the 14-30
Are you saying it has four prongs? Is it a molded on plug or does it look like something someone may have added after the fact. It sounds like someone changed the plug so they could use a clothes dryer receptacle. Can you post a picture of the receptacle and if it is an add on look and see if there are only three wires connected. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html

Name:  7221.jpg
Views: 1997
Size:  28.2 KB
 
  #9  
Old 03-30-15, 04:19 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 5
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Yes it has 4 prongs it doesn't look like someone added it it looks like it came that way. My husband checked it out it has 4 wires going to it. I can't add pic all I got is my phone Internet not a regular computer
 
  #10  
Old 03-30-15, 05:02 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
So it is not 240. It is 120/240. Okay this is over my head.
 
  #11  
Old 03-31-15, 07:52 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 9,785
Upvotes: 0
Received 45 Upvotes on 43 Posts
It looks like you would install a circuit for this thing exactly like a cloths dryer. Double-pole 30A breaker in the panel, 10-3g NM-B (Romex) cable out to the bed location, and a 14-30 dryer receptacle to plug it in.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: