Range Hood Replacement - Wire Connectors? ...

Reply

  #1  
Old 03-30-15, 10:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Question Range Hood Replacement - Wire Connectors? ...

Hi Folks,

I will be replacing a range hood tomorrow morning and just wanted to ask others with electrical knowledge, what preference they use when "hooking up" the wires.

Basically, in connecting the unit to the existing electrical feed using the wire caps, I have heard some people say they NEVER twist the wires and others say they ALWAYS twist the wires, prior to tightening up the connections with the wire caps.

Either way, I would always give a light tug on the wire caps to ensure a solid connection.

Could I ask which is the correct/safest approach?

Many thanks in advance,
Cal
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 03-30-15, 11:01 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Both. This question is asked often and each side is as passionate as any religious or political zealot. Simplest is follow the instructions on the package then tug the wires to make sure they are held tight. Or use a connector such as Polaris or Wago.
 
  #3  
Old 03-31-15, 01:33 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Many thanks for your reply Ray!

I mainly wanted the piece of mind to know that one approach wasn't "less safe" than the other. With my limited electrical knowledge, I would instinctively give the grouped wires a 'small' twist and let the Wire Nut (cap as I called it above) do the rest, until it's finger tight and a tug on the nut securely holds the wires together.

All the best,
Cal
 
  #4  
Old 03-31-15, 03:32 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,943
Received 30 Votes on 26 Posts
The stranded fixture wires will easily wrap around the solid conductor.
 
  #5  
Old 03-31-15, 10:38 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
and a tug on the nut
Actually hold the wire nut and tug each wire.
 
  #6  
Old 03-31-15, 10:53 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: BC
Posts: 32
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Certainly will, thanks!

Here is the funny thing, before I get to the wire nuts, I have to pull in the cable from 20 inches right of the original location, as the new range hood has it's electric inlet on the right hand side, not the left. Also, the 1" radius is almost on top of a stud ... why it couldn't be a nice hollow in the wall, that would be too easy!

All the best,
Cal
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: