Adding sub-panel for new second floor

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-05-15, 12:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Adding sub-panel for new second floor

Remodeled house and went from a single story to a two story house. I want to run electricity upstairs. Upstairs will consist of my office (running several computers, a bedroom, and a game room. There isn't a bathroom upstairs.
I need to know some guidelines to determine what size breaker should be used on the main panel to feed a sub-panel on the 2nd floor.
Can I use Romex 8/2 (with 10gauge ground) to feed the sub-panel or do I need 8/3 with ground?

What size breaker should be used in the sub-panel? I plan to buy all the electrical components at Lowes. Any suggest as to name brand to use?

I plan to use 12/2 for internal wiring following the guidelines I've read on other posts and 20amp outlets. What is the recommended number of outlets per run?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-05-15, 12:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,065
I need to know some guidelines to determine what size breaker should be used on the main panel to feed a sub-panel on the 2nd floor.
Can I use Romex 8/2 (with 10gauge ground) to feed the sub-panel or do I need 8/3 with ground?
You would need 8-3 not 8-2. It would require a 40 amp breaker.
What size breaker should be used in the sub-panel?
No breaker required because they are in the same building. Use a main lug panel. (Main breaker panel can be use but the breaker acts only as a (not required) disconnect.) Suggest use a 100 amp panel at lest 12 spaces. You will probably need to buy a ground bar. They usually are not included. Set up will be bonded ground bar isolated neutral bar.
 
  #3  
Old 04-05-15, 02:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Thanks for the swift response. I'' get the panel and wiring today.
 
  #4  
Old 04-05-15, 03:06 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Using #8 type NM cable is only going to give you a 40 ampere panel, not even worth the effort in my opinion. I would use nothing less than #6 with a 60 ampere feeder circuit breaker in the service panel.
 
  #5  
Old 04-05-15, 04:42 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,405
I would use nothing less than #6 with a 60 ampere feeder circuit breaker in the service panel.
I agree with Furd on this.

I plan to use 12/2 for internal wiring following the guidelines I've read on other posts and 20amp outlets. What is the recommended number of outlets per run?
There is no need to use 20 amp receptacles, 15 amp devices will be fine. They are rated for 20 amp feed through anyway. Since this is a residence, there is no limit to the number of receptacles per circuit, but if you will have heavier loads in your office, consider a couple circuits in the office alone. Any dedicated circuits required in the office for equipment like a copy machine? What is in the game room? Any dedicated circuits required? You could probably easily get away with one circuit for receptacles in here. One or two 15 amp lighting circuits would probably be more than adequate.
 
  #6  
Old 04-05-15, 07:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 3
The electrical guy at Lowes said the same thing about using #6 wire. It's a short run from the main box to the main lug panel (18ft). From there, I'll branch out the circuits. No heavy loads (copy machine, refrigerator, etc upstairs. Game room is for the pool table and fooseball. Only lights and outlets for general use there.
Thanks for all the input. This site is very useful!
 
  #7  
Old 04-05-15, 08:14 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
You could also run a conduit so that the feeder could be upgraded if needed.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes