dc machine into power invertor

Old 04-05-15, 01:28 PM
dc machine into power invertor

So I am a locksmith, electrical not really my strong suit. So I am plugging in my dc key machine into my inverter and its just not powering up, the light on the wall adapter goes out when I pull in the cigarette charger Name:  inverter 1.jpg
Views: 226
Size:  37.9 KB Name:  inverter 2.jpg
Views: 199
Size:  35.0 KB

So I plug into the regular cigarette outlet in my jeep and the lights on, the machine turned off right away, I noticed the fuse in the cigarette charger was only 5 amp, it is supposed to be 12. So went to autozone closest they had was 10 or 15 amp, I get 15 amp plug machine into cigarette outlet the machine turns on. Then I noticed the machine wouldn't turn back on after I turned it off and now I realized it was too much amps and blew the fuse for the outlet in my car. Keep in mind I just want to get the damn thing running in the inverter not the cigarette outlet. My ac key machine works fine in inverter, thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-05-15, 02:32 PM
Group Moderator
I didn't understand your post. You wrote:
I am plugging in my dc key machine into my inverter
But an inverter usually supplies 120 volts AC not DC. Even more confusing you wrote:
I just want to get the damn thing running in the inverter not the cigarette outlet.
Cigarette outlet would be 12 volts DC. An inverter would be 120 volts AC. What voltage does the key machine really use? How many amps? That info should be on the motor name plate.

Old 04-05-15, 02:34 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
You are inverting DC to AC, and the adapter is most likely putting out AC, not DC. Can you verify that by the output markings on the transformer?

Old 04-05-15, 03:00 PM
So stupid, the adapter is ac to dc lol well problem solved. Thanks man

Old 04-05-15, 04:54 PM
Group Moderator