re-purpose hot tub 240v GFCI - welding 240v outlet - HALP

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-15, 05:07 PM
juanjonSF's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
re-purpose hot tub 240v GFCI - welding 240v outlet - HALP

Hey peoples.. new to this forum looking for some HALP!!

I got rid of a hot tub, and bought a welder.. and I'd like to re-use the hot tub wiring and re-purpose for my welding projects.. as my welder can run on 240.

the GFCI is a connecticut electric 50 amp 240 volt SPA disconnect.
http://d163axztg8am2h.cloudfront.net...32542b716e.pdf

wondering.. should I by-pass the GFCI? to prevent tripping?
and it seems this GFCI has an option for a 120V branch circuit.. I'd certainly like to have two 120 outlets in addition to the 240!

how would you go about accomplishing this??

any help is much appreciated!!!

Jon
SF, CAName:  IMG_9810sm.jpg
Views: 3472
Size:  51.1 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-15, 05:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,651
What is the input amps on the welder?
 
  #3  
Old 04-06-15, 05:25 PM
juanjonSF's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
hey ray.. millermatic 211 so 25 - 30 amps
 
  #4  
Old 04-06-15, 05:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,368
Nice machine! 30% duty cycle so should be no problem whatsoever. You MAY need a different (or additional) circuit breaker installed.

You most certainly can add 120 volt circuits to this BUT they will also detract from the 240 volt maximum power. What size circuit is feeding this panel?

Removing the GFCI would be easy but I don't think there is any advantage in doing so, I could be mistaken.
 
  #5  
Old 04-06-15, 05:51 PM
juanjonSF's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
it's a 50amp circuit.. so thinking maybe keeping it wired as is, adding the 120v branch circuit as shown here - http://d163axztg8am2h.cloudfront.net...32542b716e.pdf

and connecting a nema 6-50R outlet to the existing GFCI output, that used to supply (240v) the hot tub..
 
  #6  
Old 04-06-15, 11:12 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,368
Yes, that will work. I would be tempted to remove the contactor as it is not necessary and I might add a 2-pole auxiliary circuit breaker rated at 30 amperes for the welder. Do you have an actual picture of the inside of this panel rather than just a drawing?
 
  #7  
Old 04-07-15, 05:38 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,126
Why not leave things as they are currently connected and see how the welder operates.just curious,what controls that contactor,and is that a 250volt GFCI?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 04-13-15, 09:02 PM
juanjonSF's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: United States
Posts: 4
update.. all set!

welder running a lot smoother on the 240v 50A circuit! and my extra 120 outlets sure are handy! thanks for the help peoples! Name:  1294252_10153142680366421_1928023447908848894_o.jpg
Views: 2537
Size:  40.6 KB
 
  #9  
Old 04-13-15, 09:04 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,651
Thanks for letting us know the outcome.
 
  #10  
Old 04-14-15, 01:08 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,368
Please tell me this is not outside as neither that armored cable nor the 240 volt receptacle are listed for use outside.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'