How do I make my 110v outlet a 220v outlet

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-06-15, 07:36 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 19
How do I make my 110v outlet a 220v outlet

I have a 110v outlet for my air conditioner but I need a larger air conditioner which means I will need a 220v 15 amp outlet. I have 12-2 MClite on that circuit. I was told I can use the current neutral wire as a hot and the current hot as the second hot and the current ground wire as the ground since a 220 circuit is 2 hots and a ground. Is there any reason why this would not be advisable?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-06-15, 07:46 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 3,096
First verify that there are no other things (receptacles, lights, etc.) on that circuit.

Then you may re-purpose the cable as a 240 volt circuit, substituting a 15 amp 240 only volt single receptacle in the existing outlet box at the air conditioner..

You will need a double wide double 15 amp breaker with a single handle or two handles tied together to connect the white and black wires of this cable to at the panel.

Mark both ends of the white wire with a band of black tape or stain.
 
  #3  
Old 04-07-15, 06:10 AM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
If the circuit is indeed 12/2 MC and nothing else is on that circuit,upgrade it to a 20 - 240 volt circuit,same thing applies as AllanJ stated except for a 2 pole 20 amp breaker and a 20 - 250 volt single receptacle.
Go For It!
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-15, 11:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 19
Yes, I know for sure that is a dedicated line for the air conditioner. Thanks guys for your input.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes