Cook Top Whip Junction


  #1  
Old 04-08-15, 12:56 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Cook Top Whip Junction

I should know this and don't. In many years of remodels, I have never connected 2 whips together.
The situation:

New Cook Top to be installed next week. The junction box is technically accessible, but very hard to get to, and even harder to get two hands in.

To remove old cook top, I removed whip at cook top rather than J-box.

I was thinking I could install a new J-box in cook top cabinet, connect the two whips. I would take every precaution such as grounding box and using anti-short bushings.

My concern is that this is specialized wire running through whip (high temp?), but other than that looks like it could be connected with wire nuts just the same as any other wires.
 
  #2  
Old 04-08-15, 01:24 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,254
Received 114 Votes on 99 Posts
Normally there is enough flex to allow a more accessible mounting for the junction box. You don't need to get two hands in the box as the conductor length should extend at least 3" out of the box. I would go for just one junction.
 
  #3  
Old 04-08-15, 01:30 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,942
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
I don't see a problem in doing that other than having a potential point of failure with the additional connections.
 
  #4  
Old 04-08-15, 05:54 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 10,818
Received 108 Votes on 95 Posts
My concern is that this is specialized wire running through whip (high temp?), but other than that looks like it could be connected with wire nuts just the same as any other wires.
It might be high temperature insulation on the wire, but it's still copper wire and the temperature at the junction box will not be the same as inside the appliance. Yes, use your normal wire nuts.
 
  #5  
Old 04-08-15, 06:18 PM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 5,450
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Thanks Guys,
I'm going for it. The house junction box has secure wiring and wiring looks like it was done in a professional workmanship manner, I don't want to disturb it and try to make connections in an awkward way.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: