fixed dc power supply

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-08-15, 03:21 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
fixed dc power supply

I have a fairly large fixed 24 VDC 6 amp power supply with dual input of 110/240 VAC. How can I turn it into a variable supply and/or increase its output? Can I use a VARIAC for the variable issue? Use the 240 tap to increase output? I am not too familiar with the fundamentals of electricity, let alone power supplies.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-08-15, 03:47 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
Extremely doubtful that you can either increase the voltage or amperage output. Some more specifications and maybe a picture or two of the power supply will likely confirm.
 
  #3  
Old 04-09-15, 12:28 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
What would be the result of feeding 110/60 HZ into the 240 coil/60HZ? Would the output go up or down? Any damage to the supply? Would a large pot on the output control from 0 to full? What specs for the pot? In wattage, amperage, current?
 
  #4  
Old 04-09-15, 03:40 PM
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: NC, USA
Posts: 18,112
You're asking detailed and specific electronic questions and have not said what power supply you have. So, nobody knows what you have and cannot begin to guess at what can or cannot be done.
 
  #5  
Old 04-09-15, 05:18 PM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
If this is a "switching" power supply the input voltage is almost irrelevant and the output voltage and maximum available current is also going to be fixed to a very close figure. On the other hand, if it is only a transformer and rectifier you may very well be able to alter the output voltage from zero to maximum rating. The amperage will not be able to be increased because it is dependent upon the size of the transformer, the rectifiers and any filtering that may be present.
 
  #6  
Old 04-09-15, 10:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 4
It is a SOLA catalog #83-24-260-03 It has a dual line input of 110/240, wired for 110/60. Input HX range of 47 thru63. one large capacitor of 27,000 uf at 50VDC. One large pcb with one can transistor and supporting components. One barrier strip with input and +,+sense, -,-sense. Fixed output of 24VDC/6AMP. transformer #S3-24260. Large heat sink. Too large to scan for photos. I am looking into a lab supply of either 30 or 6o VDC as an alternative. Maybe 2 30's to be used as a 30 or 60. 3 amp seems to be typical.
 
  #7  
Old 04-09-15, 10:57 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,058
You can't increase the current capability of that supply. You might be able to make it variable by 10% but that would require some reverse engineering or a schematic of the supply.
 
  #8  
Old 04-10-15, 01:17 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,399
That power supply is simply not suitable for your intended usage. Keep looking.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes