Ground and neutral bus questions

Old 04-08-15, 03:14 PM
Ground and neutral bus questions

From what I understand in my main service panel there is only a ground bus (ground and neutral bus in a main panel is the same thing). So my question is when running a wire from my main panel to a sub panel in my out building. Where does the neutral and ground go in that sub panel? Would I run the white neutral wire to the neutral bus in the sub panel and the copper ground wire to the ground bus in the sub panel? Also, what makes a ground bus a ground bus? Sorry if this post sound dumb but I am a beginner when it comes to electrical. Thanks for any information.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-08-15, 03:27 PM
I'll start and others can add. First of all, the term "main service" is incorrect as you have only one "service" Sometimes the term "main panel" is used but only the word service is absolutely correct and it applies only to the first fuse or circuit breaker after the meter.

Second, you do not have a "ground" bus in the service panel but a "neutral" bus. It is true that in the service panel that ground (more properly equipment ground) and neutral is the same. No other panel (read, sub-panel) may utilize the neutral bus as equipment ground.

Would I run the white neutral wire to the neutral bus in the sub panel and the copper ground wire to the ground bus in the sub panel?
Yes. You also must remove (or not install) the "bonding" screw or link from the neutral bus to the enclosure.

Also, what makes a ground bus a ground bus?
Being bonded to the enclosure and connected to the equipment ground from the service panel. Do not make the mistake of thinking that connection to the neutral is the same, that is ONLY done at the service panel.

Old 04-08-15, 03:43 PM
Ok, thanks for the info. What is the purpose of having both a neutral and ground?

Old 04-08-15, 03:50 PM