overhead light trips bedroom [breaker]

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-12-15, 09:18 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Unhappy overhead light trips bedroom [breaker]

I just moved into a 6 yr old home. The 15 amp [breaker] runs 2 bedrooms, one has nothing in it. The 2nd bedroom has the Internet modem (set up yesterday), tv & ps4. All was ok yesterday but this morning, breaker tripped and now I can't get anything to work in either room. I turn off the breaker, after it trips, turn it back on, turn on the overhead light in one bdrm, trips again. Nothing works - no outlets. Reset the breaker again, get a table lamp to test the outlets in the bathroom & laundry rooms, and the 2 other bedrooms, light works fine. Plug it in the outlet in my son's room - stays on for a split second & trips the breaker.

Help please.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-12-15 at 09:39 AM.
  #2  
Old 04-12-15, 09:25 AM
T
Member
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 603
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
My first thought would be: If it worked fine before the modem was installed, try unplugging it* and reset breaker to see if it happens again.

That would be a start.

* and anything else in the room
 
  #3  
Old 04-12-15, 09:30 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Did that. Unplugged everything but did not unplug the cable itself - just everything that was plugged into an outlet. Reset the breaker, turned on the overhead light via the light switch which tripped the breaker. Nothing plugged into the 2nd bdrm. The only thing that's different is the modem which was installed yesterday.
 
  #4  
Old 04-12-15, 09:43 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Unplugged everything but did not unplug the cable itself
I don't understand. The cable should not be plugged into a receptacle. Do you mean you left the modem plugged in?
 
  #5  
Old 04-13-15, 06:50 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 12
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
No sorry, I mean the cable itself, not in a receptacle but the place the cable screws on to. So was gone most of the day yesterday, everything worked fine last night and this morning, tripped again.
 
  #6  
Old 04-13-15, 09:22 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Disconnect the cable from the modem and plug just the modem in. Does it still trip?
 
  #7  
Old 04-13-15, 10:46 AM
P
Member
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: Cleveland, OH USA
Posts: 601
Received 8 Votes on 8 Posts
is it possible that if the internet cable was also just installed that the installer might have drilled into an existing wire or cable creating an intermittent short?

- Peter
 
  #8  
Old 04-13-15, 01:26 PM
F
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,495
Received 36 Votes on 28 Posts
Is this an AFCI or GFCI circuit breaker? It could be that the timing with the modem cable connection is purely coincidental. Also, is it a cable television, Internet or telephone modem (or all three combined)?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: