splicing BX to romex

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-13-15, 05:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
splicing BX to romex

hello

i have a single outlet on a basement wall run with older AC/BX armored cable,
i need to extend the run and i will be using romex/NM to to do so.
i know that the AC/BX in to the junction box must be securely fastened with the proper connector and the romex out must be properly grounded to the box with the bare copper wire to continue the ground going forward. being the outlet is on an exposed basement wall each wire in/out will be enclosed in its own 1/2" conduit as it runs up the wall.

the existing AC/BX wire is in good condition most likely from the 1960's
however i see no evidence of the thin silver conductor that is wrapped around the armor like newer AC/BX. additionally if using the proper AC/BX connector to the box i will have no way of securing the 3' piece of metal conduit which will be covering the AC/BX as it runs up the wall (the original installation just had the AC/BX in a section of metal conduit secured to the wall but not the box)

how can i handle the box attaching issue for the 3' section of conduit for the
bx?

thanks for the advice
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-13-15, 06:36 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,282
BX would not be require to be run in metal conduit as long as it followed the building surface, the Romex would. You should be able to attach the conduit to the wall using the proper fasteners and anchors (if needed). If it is concrete you will need to use a hammer drill.

If the BX does not have the bonding strip, you can not extend the circuit as it would be ungrounded. You would have to run a new cable from your panel.

Are you sure NM cable is approved in your area? I was under the impression Romex is not allowed in NYC.
 
  #3  
Old 04-13-15, 07:23 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
thank you tolyn

addendum
i cut away a section of armor and noticed IT DOES have the bonding strip, it was broken off inside the jacket. will this make it ok to extend?
if so i will put the BX in the conduit and attach it to the wall but not the box itself,
correct?

being this will be the first outlet on the run i am extending i was going to make it a GFI so everything down the line is protected, but i suppose for the purposes of my example of BX "in"going to Romex "out", wether outlet or splice its all the same rules correct?



yes
in NYC bx is still required, i am in the suburbs, good catch being in MN
 
  #4  
Old 04-13-15, 08:35 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,051
i will put the BX in the conduit and attach it to the wall but not the box itself,
There is no need to put AC in conduit. It must be connected to the box with an AC connector.
i suppose for the purposes of my example of BX "in"going to Romex "out", wether outlet or splice its all the same rules correct?
Not sure I understand the question. If there is a receptacle it must be GFCI protected if it is an unfinished device.
each wire in/out will be enclosed in its own 1/2" conduit as it runs up the wall.
I assume you mean cable but usual practice it should be individual wires not cable.
 
  #5  
Old 04-13-15, 11:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: usa
Posts: 203
since its only running 3' up an open exposed wall i will just run the NM through the short section of conduit.

yes i will be using GFI protection for the first outlet, BX in and romex out
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-15, 04:57 PM
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,941
Are you sure NM cable is approved in your area? I was under the impression Romex is not allowed in NYC.
NM can be used in single and two family homes that are 3 floors or less above grade.
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-15, 06:35 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Just curious, Which code article states that you can not extend an ungrounded circuit?
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-15, 06:44 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 12,282
See 250.130 You can extend an ungrounded circuit, but the equipment grounding conductor has to be connected as listed in 250.130(C)
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes