137 volts??!!

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-14-15, 03:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: U OF S OF A
Posts: 10
137 volts??!!

Hello some track lighting in my house was flickering (turned out be just the cheapo led track lights) but that got me checking the voltage across the track and come to find out the track as well as everything on that phase has 137 volts Hot to neutral and hot ground and 0 volts neutral to ground and on the other phase everything has 139 volts hot to ground and hot to neutral and again 0 volts ground to neutral. I check with amprobe multi meter set check up to 200 volts AC. What could be causing this? Am I getting 137 and 139 volts from the power company? Is this a serious problem?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-14-15, 04:37 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
Those reading are too high. As both legs are measuring the same I suspect a meter problem.

Do one leg go up while the other goes down if you turn something on?
 
  #3  
Old 04-14-15, 04:51 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
Check the meter in a receptacle at work or a friends house that is not on the same transformer.
 
  #4  
Old 04-14-15, 05:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: U OF S OF A
Posts: 10
no 137 and 139 constant volts hot to neutral and hot to ground all the time unless the hot is switched and off of course
 
  #5  
Old 04-14-15, 05:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,483
That voltage is too high for a home. Either you do indeed have a high voltage problem or your meter is incorrectly reading high. (my bet is it's a meter problem)

If you take the meter to a friends house..... try it there and see what it reads.
 
  #6  
Old 04-14-15, 05:22 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
If this is a digital meter replace the batteries before checking it as I suggested above.
 
  #7  
Old 04-14-15, 05:22 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,359
You still need to see if you get voltage swings under load to rule out a neutral issue.
 
  #8  
Old 04-14-15, 05:25 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: U OF S OF A
Posts: 10
I have tested the track light with lights on it and outlet with something plugged into the other outlet of the pair .How would I check the volts of something plugged in?
 
  #9  
Old 04-15-15, 12:16 AM
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Wet side of Washington state.
Posts: 18,374
You still have not told us if you (a) changed the batteries in your multimeter or (b) have taken the meter to a different house to test the voltage. My initial assumption based upon what you HAVE told us is that your meter is reading incorrectly. Until that supposition can be completely eliminated no one can offer any substantial help.
 
  #10  
Old 04-15-15, 03:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: U OF S OF A
Posts: 10
I posted this last night so will check my meter some where else today and replace batteries.
 
  #11  
Old 04-15-15, 06:49 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,659
and replace batteries.
So it is digital not analog? (Batteries in an analog are only for resistance measurement.)
 
  #12  
Old 04-15-15, 07:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,295
If your meter reads normal voltage elsewhere (around 120V), and with new batteries your meter is still reading ~140V in the home, then you need to call your power company's emergency repair number. This problem would be entirely their problem and they should fix it at no charge to you. If any of your stuff was damaged, they may be liable for some replacement cost.
 
  #13  
Old 04-15-15, 09:31 AM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Northern Minnesota
Posts: 1,458
Same thing happened to me a few years ago, computer shut down from high voltage. Checked with my kill-a-watt and it showed 132 or 134 volts, same thing at the neighbors.

Power company stopped by and checked, yep, too high. Left in his truck for about 20 minutes and stopped back and checked again, 120 volts. All he said was you're set to go, thanks for calling.

No idea what he did, wish I would have asked him.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'