Need help with wiring


  #1  
Old 04-15-15, 08:45 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Need help with wiring

I have a 3 switch outlet box in master bathroom. The box has five 14/2 cables coming into ti.
#1 is the source cable from gfci in my garage
#2 is to a receptacle outside on my deck
#3 is to a shower light in bath
#4 is to a Fan/ Light combo in the bath
#5 unknown

If I hook up the #1 to #2,3,or 4 by themselves, they power the intended fixture.
If I hook the #1 up to #5 by itself it trips the gfci in the garage.

Any help as how to wire this box with the receptacle on the deck and the shower light protected by gfci.
 
  #2  
Old 04-15-15, 08:56 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
If this is new wiring it does not meet the code requirements for bathroom receptacles being on a dedicated 20 amp circuit. If it is existing the outside receptacle sounds like it is already downstream from the garage GFI.

Shower lights normally do not call for GFI protection.
 
  #3  
Old 04-15-15, 09:21 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
I dont think I explained myself well. Here are some pictures to see the way i currently have it connected.Name:  IMG_0767.jpg
Views: 328
Size:  33.2 KBEverything seems to be working properly like this, but obviously Im missing something because I have one cable thats not hooked up.
 
  #4  
Old 04-15-15, 09:33 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,252
Received 113 Votes on 98 Posts
The light and fan are switched separately?
 
  #5  
Old 04-15-15, 09:40 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
yes thats correct. I have the receptacle on the deck hook to source so its not switched then pigtailed to supply the switches
 
  #6  
Old 04-15-15, 02:04 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Can someone please help with this
 
  #7  
Old 04-15-15, 03:21 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,581
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Everything seems to be working properly like this, but obviously Im missing something because I have one cable thats not hooked up.
If everything works the the cable is not needed. Not a problem. Perhaps something was removed from the circuit.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: