Wall outlet problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-15, 09:34 AM
D
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Wall outlet problem

Alright im doing some electrical work around the house changing plugs and all. And i pull a plug from the wall that has never worked before. And i know the plug is on a double braker (220).

So i started messing eith the plug. I have 3 wires (red,black,white). If i only plug the white and the red wire the plug works i get 110v. If i plug the black and the red wire i get 220v. If i plug all 3 my braker jumps. What im trying to figure out is! Is it safe to keep the white and red wire plugged on my outlet and just cap and tape the black wire all in the same box?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-15, 09:42 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 15,142
Received 83 Votes on 71 Posts
Receptacles have different configuration configurations based on voltage and ampacity. They are not interchangeable.

What are you trying to do?
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-15, 10:54 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
i know the plug is on a double braker (220).
No, nominal voltage is 240.
I have 3 wires (red,black,white)
Is this cable or conduit? If cable is there no ground wire?
If i plug the black and the red wire i get 220v.
Should be ~240 volts. What is the voltage from black to white and red to white?
 
Reply
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: