ceiling fan install/no existing light fixture

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-20-15, 11:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
ceiling fan install/no existing light fixture

Hi, I'm looking for some guidance on installing a ceiling fan with light kit in my bedroom of my home but there is not an existing fixture or wiring where the fan will be installed. I have an existing switch that controls one entire outlet and can get into the attic to run new wiring if needed as I will need to install the fan box anyways. The switch is currently a single but I intend to install a double at that location so one switch can control the light and the other can control the fan. The outlet I would then want to convert to an always on state.

I looked at the wiring entering both boxes (switch and outlet) and theres quite a few wires in each but it looks like 1 common 3 wire + bare that I believe I may be able to "pull" out of the outlet location if feasible and use that as my 3 way wire that will go from the existing switch location to the new fan location.

Is there a way to tell if the only existing 3 way wire in the switch location is the same one entering the existing plug location?

At the switch, there are 3 wires coming in. 2 of them are Blk, White and Grnd and 1 is a 3 way with a red. All of the white wires are pigtailed and wire nutted. All of the blacks are pig tailed and one black then goes to the switch. All of the grounds are pigtailed and then one to the switch, and the one red wire goes to the switch.

At the outlet there are 5 wires coming in; 2 of them are 3 way wire, however the red wire from one of them goes to the black wire from one of the 2 way wires and is nutted off. The other 3 way red wire is the one connected to the outlet, and this is the one I think may be running directly to the switch. All other blacks are pigtailed and one wire to the outlet. All 5 white are pigtailed and one white to the outlet, and the same with the ground. The plug has a white, black, ground and red connection.

Can I just remove that 3 way wire if I can confirm it runs directly to the switch and then cap the red wire on the outlet to convert it to an always on state? Then at the switch connect another short black wire to the existing circuit blacks and run one to switch 1 and one to switch 2; then connect the black wire running to the fan to the other screw of switch 1 and the red wire to the fan to the other screw of switch 2?

I'll be happy to provide more info.

Thanks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-20-15, 12:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,040
1 common 3 wire + bare that I believe I may be able to "pull" out of the outlet location if
You won't. It is stapled in place.
At the switch, there are 3 wires coming in. 2 of them are Blk, White and Grnd and 1 is a 3 way with a red. All of the white wires are pigtailed and wire nutted. All of the blacks are pig tailed and one black then goes to the switch. All of the grounds are pigtailed and then one to the switch, and the one red wire goes to the switch.
To reword a bit: One 2-conductor cable that brings power in. One 3-conductor cable that caries switched (red) and unswitched (black) power to the first receptacle.
Can I just remove that 3 way wire if I can confirm it runs directly to the switch and then cap the red wire on the outlet to convert it to an always on state?
Cap at both ends. At the receptacle connect the black instead of the red.

You will need to install a fan rated box in the ceiling and run a 3-conductor cable to the switch. Remove the existing box and use the hole to fish the new 3-conductor cable from the fan. Replace the box you removed with a 2gang old work box.
 
  #3  
Old 04-20-15, 01:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
Thanks for the quick reply and your response to the first two questions make sense.

With regards to the always on state of the outlet I just want to double check. you say to cap the red wire from the 3 conductor cable at both ends (at the switch and the outlet) correct? At the outlet where there is another red wire capped to a black wire, should I connect this switched red to those or just cap by itself?

And then you say to connect the black instead at the outlet, but the outlet receptacle already has a black wire connected, so that switched connection which used to be the red wire, I am now connecting another short black wire from the pig tailed blacks to that connector?

Thanks
 
  #4  
Old 04-20-15, 01:40 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,051
Right now..... the red wire supplies switched power to the receptacle. If you didn't want to do anything at the receptacle..... take and connect the red wire at the switch end to the black splice. Now the red will be always live. Put the receptacle back in and you're done there.
 
  #5  
Old 04-20-15, 01:55 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 3
gotcha thanks again for all the help
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes