Wire size for 100 amp sub panel


  #1  
Old 04-22-15, 02:14 PM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Wire size for 100 amp sub panel

Hello I am wanting to install a 100 amp sub panel in my pole barn. I will be running from my 200amp service in my house witch is located around 100ft away. What size wire should I run will 1-1-1-4 alum. work? Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks Brad
 
  #2  
Old 04-22-15, 02:40 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
#1 Aluminum should be fine.
 
  #3  
Old 04-22-15, 05:48 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Make sure you actually have 100 amps to spare from your 200 amp service. What all do you plan to power in the pole building? If you don't need the full 100 amp you may be better off running a #2 wire on a 50 or 60 amp breaker.
 
  #4  
Old 04-22-15, 06:30 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
you may be better off running a #2 wire on a 50 or 60 amp breaker.
A 60 amp circuit needs only #6 cu or #4 AL THWN or XHHW.
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-15, 04:51 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Plan on running a welder and air compressor. Was going to put a 90 amp breaker in the main so I won't pull the full 100 amps. Will that work? Is # 4 ground wire heavy enough along with 2 # 1 alum hots and 1 #1 alum neutral?
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-15, 10:02 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: United States
Posts: 9,875
Received 186 Upvotes on 167 Posts
If you use a 90 amp breaker you can use #2 aluminum.
 
  #7  
Old 04-23-15, 03:33 PM
Justin Smith's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Cressona, Pa, USA
Posts: 2,272
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
If you use #1, just get the 100A breaker. You won't use any more or less power using a bigger breaker.
Plan on running a welder and air compressor.
What are the nameplate specs on the welder and air compressor?
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: