Outdoor Outlet Box

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-23-15, 08:37 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 445
Outdoor Outlet Box

Anyone know of any outdoor, flush-mount, boxes? All the ones I see stick out from the house. Thanks.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-23-15, 08:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,064
What will you be installing the box in ?

You can use a standard cut-in gem box for installation into wood.

Name:  box.jpg
Views: 458
Size:  16.4 KB
 
  #3  
Old 04-23-15, 09:17 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
Arlington has an in use box with cover that is close to flush.
 
  #4  
Old 04-23-15, 09:34 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 445
I was just going to cut a hole in my cedar siding. I have access to the rear of it since it's in the basement.

pjmax, is there some of cover or plate that would make it a little more waterproof?
 
  #5  
Old 04-23-15, 09:43 PM
Piddler's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 110
If you're putting this through an outside wall, the cover plate is what will make it weather proof. It should seal and cover the outlets. Just purchase the cover for the siding you have.
 
  #6  
Old 04-23-15, 10:09 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,064
Just about any of the in-use cover systems will fit over the cut-in gem box. A little bead of silicone around the top and two sides will keep the water out.

Name:  VAC-WP3100-C-2T.jpg
Views: 1290
Size:  26.6 KB


I believe pcBoss was referring to this style of box and plate where the plastic box gets cut into the wall.

Name:  inbox.jpg
Views: 444
Size:  6.6 KB.
Arlington DBVR1C-1 Outdoor Electrical Box with Weatherproof Cover for Flat Surface Construction - Amazon

 
  #7  
Old 04-23-15, 10:42 PM
Piddler's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 110
Very nice PJmax, I like those.
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-15, 05:01 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,587
That is the one Pete, thanks.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-15, 05:44 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 445
Great, thanks............
 
  #10  
Old 04-24-15, 12:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 445
What about one of those blue old-work boxes from HD, would that work?
 
  #11  
Old 04-24-15, 01:09 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,379
What about one of those blue old-work boxes from HD, would that work?
Yes. .................................
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes