Testing a transformer


  #1  
Old 04-24-15, 01:58 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Testing a transformer

I have a 12v transformer for my GE autotrol watersoftener. When I test it with my meter set on 20 AC it reads 4.4v. It this the correct way to test it? Should it read 12v? If so I assume it's bad? will any class 2 12v transformer work to replace it?
Ken
 
  #2  
Old 04-24-15, 02:00 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

Does the transformer say 12v AC or DC on it ?
 
  #3  
Old 04-24-15, 03:22 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thanks.
It is 12V AC, and it is rated for and mounted outside. It is about 7 years old.
 
  #4  
Old 04-24-15, 03:29 PM
GregH's Avatar
Super Moderator
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Manitoba
Posts: 9,500
Received 68 Upvotes on 62 Posts
I have an Autotrol softener and the power pack is 12 volts AC, 150 ma.
A transformer of the same specs would work.

Make sure your meter is set to AC volts.
 
  #5  
Old 04-24-15, 03:31 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
And if it is digital change the batteries.
 
  #6  
Old 04-26-15, 05:13 PM
F
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 3
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
When it was set up they spliced two heads to the one transformer. It worked like that for 7 years, I assume since each head runs thru a cycle at different times it does not pull too many amps at one time? Therefore no issue? There is not another outlet available for a second transformer.
 
  #7  
Old 04-26-15, 08:29 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
So in that case replace the transformer with a larger one.

That type of supply is fairly common. You need at least 12vac and 1A or 12watts or larger.
Class-II-Transformer-12vac+transformer
ALPHA T1240 PLUG IN TRANSFORMER 12VAC 40VA
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: