Two separate switches to control GFI receptacle


  #1  
Old 04-26-15, 07:39 AM
B
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 1
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Two separate switches to control GFI receptacle

Hi guys
There are hanging outdoor Christmas type lights on my patio plugged into an outlet controlled by a switch inside the patio door. GFCI outlet with both "plugs" controlled by the one switch. I recently installed a spot light for my BBQ that also plugs into the outlet.
I am wondering if it is possible to replace the single switch with a double switch and change the wiring so each outlet(top and bottom) are controlled separately by each switch. Basically I dont want my BBQ spot light to come on when I only want my patio lights on.

Is this something easily done?

Thanks
Brian
 
  #2  
Old 04-26-15, 08:24 AM
Handyone's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: U.S.
Posts: 4,807
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
You would need to run new cable from the existing switch to the receptacle. The new cable would be 3-conductor with ground, such as 14/3 or 12/3. Red, Black, and White conductors with bare ground.

After running new cable, you can post for detailed wiring.
 
  #3  
Old 04-26-15, 09:08 AM
D
Member
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: USA
Posts: 4,344
Upvotes: 0
Received 1 Upvote on 1 Post
Yes. You break the between the two screws on the receptacle. Then you can have two circuits wired in.
 
  #4  
Old 04-26-15, 09:18 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 65,100
Received 3,982 Upvotes on 3,574 Posts
With a GFI receptacle.... both receptacles are tied together internally.... you cannot split them.
You would need to add a second GFI receptacle.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: