Separate Switches For Split receptacle

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-28-15, 09:56 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
Separate Switches For Split receptacle

I am researching a project similar to BDOBS and can use some help. I have 12/2 stubbed to a exterior box. Would like to wire in two switches and pull 12/3 from the switches to an outlet at my pond and be able to control the top of the outlet with one switch and the bottom with the other. If I can't split a GFCI outlet I can install a GFCI breaker if that is the best way to go?

Was hoping someone could provide a diagram of the proper way to wire this up, or at the very least explain it all as I have searched hi and low online for a schematic with no luck.

Thanks in advance
 

Last edited by ray2047; 04-28-15 at 12:28 PM.
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-28-15, 10:34 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
You just need to supply the gfi protection before the receptacles.
 
  #3  
Old 04-28-15, 11:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 2
I understand the GFCI protection part. What I was hoping for (need) is a picture of the wiring between the two switches and the outlet? 12/2 to the two switches, 12/3 from the switches to the top and bottom of the plug-in.
 
  #4  
Old 04-28-15, 01:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
At the switch:
  • White to White
  • Black of power in pigtailed to one screw of each switche.
  • Black of 3-conductor cable to remaining screw of one switch.
  • Red to remaining screw of the other switch.
At the receptacle:
  • White to silver screw. (Tab is not removed.)
  • Remove tab brass side only.
  • Red to one brass screw.
  • Black to other brass screws.
Grounds connected per code.
 
  #5  
Old 04-28-15, 07:12 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
The receptacles need to be weather resistant rated and a in use cover used.
 
  #6  
Old 04-28-15, 08:17 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,446
A diagram to go along with Ray's description.
Grounds are not shown but are expected to be connected.

Name:  circuit2.jpg
Views: 262
Size:  18.3 KB

You'll need to break the bridge clip off on the hot (gold screw) side of the receptacle.

Name:  bridging clip.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  20.3 KB
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'