Special outlet with no gang box

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-15, 03:30 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Special outlet with no gang box

Hi All,

I have an outlet I want to replace. It is mounted on the side of a kitchen cabinet.

The outlet is not mounted in a box, it seems to have its own little box on the back with all the connections inside. I'm having trouble finding another one. Does anyone know what these are called?

I was going to just replace it with a 1 gang box and a standard outlet, but there isn't room behind it since there is a drawer there. There isn't even room for a low profile box so this unit seems to be my only choice.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 04-29-15, 03:39 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
You may have a shallow box installed, which is common in cabinets where there are drawers. Pictures of what you see will help us see it. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/el...your-post.html
 
  #3  
Old 04-29-15, 04:03 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Does the cable come in from the back? This box may work for your application ,but pics would help
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-15, 05:16 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Here's what it looks like.

Name:  out.jpg
Views: 372
Size:  30.5 KB
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-15, 05:29 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
This is typically found in mobile homes and modular homes, and is considered an "old work" box. You can install a shallow box with a standard receptacle if you wish. But you must use a box to contain the wiring.
 
  #6  
Old 04-29-15, 06:14 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 3,314
Is there a mfg. Name on it, how deep is it?
Geo
 
  #7  
Old 04-29-15, 07:39 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Well, there just isn't room for a box, even a low profile.

The unit is back in so I couldn't measure overall length, but there is 3/4" protruding on the backside and it is touching the rail for the drawer.

With the thickness of the cabinet wall and the mounting flange, its pretty close to 1.5 inches in depth.

Now, it occurs to me that maybe I can mount a low profile box but the mounting flange would have to go on the outside of the cabinet. Do you think a standard wall plate would fully cover the box flange in that position?
 
  #8  
Old 04-29-15, 07:40 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,047
Since it is on the side would a surface mount box work?
 
  #9  
Old 04-29-15, 07:46 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 46,124
A plate would cover the flanges from a shallow gem box.

The problem with a shallow metal box is the wire clamp screw exits the back.
 
  #10  
Old 04-29-15, 07:56 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
"Since it is on the side would a surface mount box work?"

I don't know what one of those looks like. Have you got a link?
 
  #11  
Old 04-29-15, 07:59 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
"A plate would cover the flanges from a shallow gem box."

This might be what I do then. Depending on what Ray says.
 
  #12  
Old 04-29-15, 08:02 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
"Since it is on the side would a surface mount box work?"

From what I can tell from a search on HD, that would mean the box protrudes from the side. That wouldn't work.
 
  #13  
Old 04-30-15, 04:27 AM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Can't tell if you need a single or double box, but here's one in the single size, for old work, which allows for wiring to be in a cavity beside the box, gaining box fill requirements and still allowing a narrow space. Carlon 1-Gang 17 cu. in. Shallow Old Work Box-B117RSWR - The Home Depot
 
  #14  
Old 04-30-15, 08:46 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
That one looks interesting. I'll have take a look at it. Thanks.

Thanks to everyone!
 
  #15  
Old 04-30-15, 09:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,047
Normally the box Larry linked to are installed before Sheetrocking then half covered with Sheetrock. It might be difficult to install.
 
  #16  
Old 04-30-15, 09:43 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
Noted. But this is a bit of an abnormal situation so I'll do whatever works.
 
  #17  
Old 04-30-15, 02:48 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Actually it can be added as an old work box with a hole cut in the sheetrock and the box slipped in at an angle and the ears put in place with the screws. You'll need to determine if you need a double or single box and possibly cut the cabinet out some in order to fit it in.
 
  #18  
Old 04-30-15, 03:19 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
So, I was able to get the low profile box to work. With it mounted on the outside of the cabinet there is just barely clearance to the drawer rail.

I had to cut the cabinet open a little more but that's ok.

The cover plate doesn't quite cover it all but it looks so much better now.

Thanks again!
 
  #19  
Old 04-30-15, 04:56 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Great. Glad it worked out for you. You may try a "grande" cover plate. They are a little larger and may tend to drop over the receptacle and box edge a little better.
 
  #20  
Old 04-30-15, 07:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 81
If "I" could I would.

But I don't get to pick the fancy shmancy decorative parts.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes