Use for AC fan motor

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-29-15, 03:33 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 129
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Use for AC fan motor

Hi Again,

I recently replaced the fan motor on the AC unit.

I think the old motor will still work, but does anybody know of any uses for an old 220 motor?
 
  #2  
Old 04-29-15, 03:36 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
Not much. Little torque. Why did you replace it? That will clue you in on its possible uses. If it was slow or had a burning smell, then it may be bad bearings or bad capacitor.
 
  #3  
Old 04-29-15, 04:24 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 129
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
It was making a bad rattling noise. Bearing I suspect. But if I could make some use of it, I'm all for it.
 
  #4  
Old 04-29-15, 04:34 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,965
Received 6 Votes on 6 Posts
I'd sell it for the copper content and move on. It will only be trouble really soon once the bearing does finally go south.
 
  #5  
Old 04-29-15, 05:13 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 129
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Yeah, I suppose you're right.
 
  #6  
Old 04-30-15, 05:02 PM
T
Member
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 1,693
Received 47 Votes on 46 Posts
my granddaddy used to hook up old motors on his workbench to grinder discs and rotary wirebrushes, etc. I recall several exposed v-belts and pulleys. Looked like a good way for a kid to loose an arm if you didn't watch out for the moving parts.
 
  #7  
Old 04-30-15, 07:51 PM
G
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: United States
Posts: 129
Received 2 Votes on 2 Posts
Oooooh, I wonder if I could make a sander out of it.

Just kidding.
 

Last edited by GotToGo; 04-30-15 at 10:09 PM.
  #8  
Old 04-30-15, 09:28 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,582
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
Not enough torque. It would just stall out.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: