15 amp switch

Reply

  #1  
Old 04-30-15, 11:43 PM
WRDIY's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 620
15 amp switch

I learned from the people of this forum that it is fine to put a 15 amp receptacle on a 20 amp circuit. Is it also to code and safety to put a 15 amp switch on a 20 amp circuit?

They sell single pole and not sure what that means vs other options.

Thank You
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-01-15, 04:11 AM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,246
A 15 amp. switch is legal.
Single pole just means it will control one circut from one location.
A 3 or 4 way is meant to be used to control the circut in more then one location.
Example, a switch at the top and bottom of the stairs, a hallway where you can turn on and off the switch from both ends of the hall.
 
  #3  
Old 05-01-15, 05:46 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,066
Single pole just means it will control one circut from one location.
A 3 or 4 way is meant to be used to control the circut in more then one location.
Not really. Both single location switches and 3-way switches are single pole. 4-way is a special type of double pole switch.
They sell single pole and not sure what that means
Only one wire is switched by it.
I learned from the people of this forum that it is fine to put a 15 amp receptacle on a 20 amp circuit. Is it also to code and safety to put a 15 amp switch on a 20 amp circuit?
Depends on the situation and amperage of the load being switched. It is okay if the load is less than 15 amps and it is only 120 volts being switched. If 240 volts for safety you need a 2 pole switch. What will the switch be used for?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes