Romex pulled too tight through joist/subfloor?

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-04-15, 10:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 21
Romex pulled too tight through joist/subfloor?

Hey. It's me again with another question on my new construction home.

Our electrical panel is in the basement. It's on a non-load bearing wall. When the HVAC guys did their rough in, they chopped it to run their ducts. The framers didn't have a chance to fix it before the electricians came through and tightened down all their cabling.

The framers came back and fixed it, although the end result is the cabling is pretty tight through through the floor joists and subfloor.

I'm just wondering how tight is too tight. Floor boards deflect a little bit and I don't want it to eventually rub off the sheathing and cause an issue.

Here are some pictures. The close up shows that one had the sheathing cut, but the paper is in tact and I don't think the insulation is damaged.

The romex shown is pretty tight running through the joist.
Name:  front.jpg
Views: 1814
Size:  29.4 KB

I actually cut out a little webbing for the white romex on the left...it was VERY tight. You can see the cut in the sheathing on one of the 12/2 lines.
Name:  closeup.jpg
Views: 2320
Size:  33.8 KB

My main power line also has some twist in it, but I imagine that's ok?
Name:  Back.jpg
Views: 4807
Size:  34.8 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-04-15, 11:44 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,629
I'm wondering about the bundling and lack of fasteners for the cables but not a pro. One should answer your post soon..
 
  #3  
Old 05-04-15, 11:45 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,429
The service cable comes twisted so that's ok. I'd highly recommend installing nail plates where I put the red X's to protect the wiring from nails. Anywhere where you'll be rocking and there is a possibility of a nail/screw hitting a wire.

You may need to install horizontal pieces of wood so that the wiring to the panel can be fastened.

Name:  Back.jpg
Views: 5882
Size:  14.0 KB

Name:  plate.jpg
Views: 1294
Size:  29.8 KB
 
  #4  
Old 05-04-15, 06:09 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
For support I think I'd install a few Colorado Jims. They are quick and easy.

https://www.erico.com/catalog/catego...=en&country=US

OR...... a few 3M Cable Stackers. Also quick and easy.

3M Cable Stacker - White 25-Pack (Case of 10)-SI-1 - The Home Depot
 
  #5  
Old 05-04-15, 06:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,429
What about the service cable Joe ?
 
  #6  
Old 05-04-15, 06:31 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,976
I would just install a flat 2x4 between the studs, flush to the back side, and install NM staples to "debundle" the cables. Install nail plates over any hole less then 1 1/4" away from the nailing face of the framing members.
 
  #7  
Old 05-04-15, 06:41 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
I too would use 3M Stackers and cut those bundles loose.
 
  #8  
Old 05-04-15, 06:44 PM
Member
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: USA
Posts: 4,053
I'd be far more concered with the lack of naiilers for the sheet rock
 
  #9  
Old 05-04-15, 06:48 PM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,212
What about the service cable Joe ?
I'd leave it alone unless the inspector made me do something with it.
 
  #10  
Old 05-04-15, 06:57 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
SER cable has a natural twist.
 
  #11  
Old 05-04-15, 07:11 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,429
You missed my point completely. Did you read my post (#3) where I mentioned installing horizontal strips of wood to fasten the wiring too. Then you said use stackers. How do you fasten the service cable to a stacker ??

I know service cable has a twist ... cmon guys.
 
  #12  
Old 05-04-15, 07:29 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,349
The OP was concerned about twist in post #1.
 
  #13  
Old 05-04-15, 08:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 21
Thanks for the responses.

We actually have been living here for about 2 weeks - so all inspections are done and (obviously) a C of O issued.

My biggest concern was with how tight the white/yellow romex was against the floor joists and subfloor. Given the number of comments, it seems a bigger issue is the lack of strapping for the loose cables. That's an easy fix and one I can take care of.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'