240V to pool pump problem

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-05-15, 09:29 AM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
240V to pool pump problem

My pool pump quit and checking voltages, with no load, I have 165 across the two hots. From 1 hot to neutral, I have 110, from n to the other I have 36. My breakers are not labeled (I know, not good) but I have checked all breakers and have 120 on each breaker. And of course, the wire is buried. Any easy way to tell which wire goes back to the breaker or any suggestions on what to do?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-05-15, 10:25 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
A 240 breaker is distinct from a 120 breaker so you only need to check the 240 breakers. It will probably have two handles tied together and will have two wires connected to it, probably black and white though black and red or black and black are possible. The colors should match the colors on the pump. You test by measuring across the two screws of the breaker.
 
  #3  
Old 05-05-15, 12:49 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
OK well I did find the breaker. I switched the two wires from 1 breaker to the other, problem stayed with the wire, and I did have 110 on each breaker and 220 across them. Now without the bad wire hooked to the breaker, I had nothing at the pump on that leg, as I was checking to see if there was any bleed-over and of course there isn't. Guess it's time to start digging.
 
  #4  
Old 05-05-15, 01:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
110/220 is below nominal value of 120/240. Are you using an analog or digital multimeter?
Guess it's time to start digging.
Continuity of the cable can be checked with a multimeter set to ohms. Disconnect on both ends. Connect hot to neural on one end and measure for continuity on the other.
 
  #5  
Old 05-05-15, 03:13 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: USA
Posts: 4,240
Received 27 Votes on 26 Posts
Is there another disconnect at the pump location?is the circuit in pipe or direct burial?
Geo
 
  #6  
Old 05-05-15, 04:28 PM
T
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: USA
Posts: 10
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
there is a disconnect at the place where the conduit/wire comes into the pump room. Just talked to my electrician buddy he's gonna check into running a new line, and I'm sure the leg that doesn't work has an open in it causing a lot of resistance. I am using a digital meter by the way.
 
  #7  
Old 05-05-15, 04:41 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,597
Received 13 Votes on 11 Posts
I am using a digital meter by the way.
Change the battery. See if you still get 110/220. Not out of range for residential but definitely on the low side.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: