Transfomer for LED strip outdoors

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-06-15, 09:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 89
Transfomer for LED strip outdoors

I need to connect about 4 and a half Strips of LED lights on my deck to illuminate the railing.

Led Strip Specifications for a single strip:
Working Voltage: 12VDC
LED Quantity: 300 LEDs/5 Meter
Working Current/meter: 1.2A
Lenght: 16.4 Foot / 5 Meter

My questions are:
1) How powerful does the transformer need to be for me to be able to power all that? Do i need more than one transformer?

2)How can I keep the transformer protected from rain/snow since it's not waterproof? (the led strips are waterproof)

Here's a picture of my deck, the outlet I want to use is on the lower left part of the pic.

Name:  Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.19.30 AM.jpg
Views: 205
Size:  43.9 KB
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-06-15, 10:46 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,454
It's very easy to find weatherproof low voltage transformers but they are AC not DC output.

You need almost 6A at 12vdc to handle the load. I already have several application where this amount of current is in use. I use hi current switching supplies in a custom plastic enclosure. Probably the easiest thing to do would be to use two power supplies like the following. You could probably mount them under the deck...

amazon/HitLights-Waterproof-Watt-Power-Supply/=HitLights+Waterproof+40 Watt
 
  #3  
Old 05-06-15, 10:51 AM
CasualJoe's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 9,213
the outlet I want to use is on the lower left part of the pic.
All I see is an extension cord in the lower left.
 
  #4  
Old 05-06-15, 11:02 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,454
Looks to be a WP box.

Name:  Screen Shot 2015-05-06 at 11.19.30 AM.jpg
Views: 146
Size:  25.8 KB

It might be a good idea to install a second box under the deck for the transformers.
 
  #5  
Old 05-06-15, 12:47 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 89
thank you for replying!
My question is: if EACH METER of the strip needs 14.4watts and i need to power about 21.3 meters, dont i need a total of at least 307 watts to be supplied by the transformers?
 
  #6  
Old 05-06-15, 01:22 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,454
Working Current/meter: 1.2A ..... Lenght: 16.4 Foot / 5 Meter
That looks like it would then require 1.2A x 5= 6A per strip.

That would be a lot of current for an LED strip. Can you post what product your are using ?
Possibly you transferred the info incorrectly.
 
  #7  
Old 05-06-15, 02:02 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
That seems extremely large power for an LED strip -- 300W of LED is enough to light up a decent size parking lot.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'