need to make battery packs for lights


  #1  
Old 05-07-15, 12:11 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
need to make battery packs for lights

if have these little lamps:

Name:  k2-_f10690a4-4f18-4758-a27d-058ab91072a3_v1.jpg
Views: 510
Size:  11.9 KB

they have regular 2 pronged ac plugs for the wall. inside the can is a regular E-27 socket for a bulb. supposedly they're 60W max.

i put these bulbs in them:

Name:  $_35.jpg
Views: 298
Size:  10.0 KB

it's an LED bulb that changes colors from a remote controller. input voltage is 85V~265V AC 50-60Hz. uses at most 9W.

i want to make battery pack to power one of these lamps with this bulb in it. i don't want to modify the lamp; i want to be able to just plug it into the pack. the power needs to last like 6hrs at a time.

what type of battery pack do i need to make?
 
  #2  
Old 05-07-15, 12:24 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
You would need to use a large battery such as a car battery and an inverter. If you used to series wired sets of 60 D cell batteries in parallel you would probably get only a few minuets of use.
 
  #3  
Old 05-07-15, 12:28 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,338
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
Yeah, that type of lamp is not a good option for what you want to use it for being it is for AC volts. Look for a different lamp with uses 12 volts DC, they will be easy to find.
 
  #4  
Old 05-07-15, 04:46 PM
C
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
the lamp is pretty simple. i'm most interested in keeping the fixture body because of the look. i guess i'm fine with changing the electrical components of the fixture, of which there hardly is anythig. electrically it's pretty much just wires and a socket.

so i've seen those battery powered sockets you can put any e-27 bulb into and just stick it wherever. those take like 4 AA batteries. supposedly i can stick my LED bulb right in there and it works. can i not just re-wire the lamp for how many ever batteries i need?
 
  #5  
Old 05-07-15, 05:51 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: United States
Posts: 14,338
Received 878 Upvotes on 741 Posts
The issue is not the fixture but the LED bulb. The bulb you picked out is input voltage of 85V~265Volts AC 50-60Hz. 1 AA battery voltage is 1.5 volts DC. These voltages are miles apart and are not the same thing. The only practical way to do it would be, as Ray posted, use a car battery and an inverter to change 12V DC to 120 volts AC.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: