Wiring my homemade bed and headboard

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-10-15, 11:35 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Lightbulb Wiring my homemade bed and headboard

The only electrical background I have is replacing light fixtures and simple receptacles. Carpentry is the only thing I'm halfway decent at. I'm trying to add some lights and outlets to this bed I've made. My intent is to run everything to the wall receptacle(15amp). Here's what I WANT to do. (See photos)

An "INDEPENDENT"(to me, meaning it has a switch that doesn't affect the other light or anything else) overhead light on each side of the headboard. With an "independent" rope light under each side of the bed. Also a receptacle on each side for our phones/alarm clock or whatever. I haven't bought anything yet until I know what the best way to do all of this is or if its even possible. Again, my knowledge is very limited and I don't now all the terminology, or what gauge/type of wire to use etc. But any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

Name:  IMG_0527.jpg
Views: 6471
Size:  30.5 KB

Name:  IMG_0535.jpg
Views: 1923
Size:  33.4 KB
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-10-15 at 12:14 PM. Reason: picture editing
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-10-15, 11:57 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: NJ - USA
Posts: 43,494
Welcome to the forums.

Thanks Ben. I put the picture back in your original post.

Your diagram looks good Ray.
 

Last edited by PJmax; 05-10-15 at 12:17 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-10-15, 12:11 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
I have annotated your diagram to show one way to do it. PJ may have a better way so I will wait for his comments.

Name:  IMG_0535.jpg
Views: 2484
Size:  42.4 KB

The receptacles on either side of the bed would have one switched plug in for the rope lights and one always hot plugin for other things.

At the existing receptacle you would need to replace it with a deep old work box. All wire in the box would be connected to pigtails and the pigtails to the existing receptacle.
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-10-15 at 12:41 PM.
  #4  
Old 05-10-15, 01:11 PM
chandler's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 39,968
Just guessing, but I think the OP wanted the canopy, or bed light to be on three way switching. Hey, Ray, just a few more lines Good job.
 
  #5  
Old 05-10-15, 01:16 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Now you say that Larry after I drew this. We will wait to see if he wants 3-ways for the rope light. Ben, if you do want a single rope light on a 3-way it will be easier to use two individual switches on each side rather than the duplex you show. You really need the room of a two gang box for wiring and that kind of duplex combo is very expensive if you can find it. If it is a single rope light where were you going to plug it in?

Name:  BG.jpg
Views: 2072
Size:  22.2 KB
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-10-15 at 02:06 PM.
  #6  
Old 05-10-15, 02:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Thanks Ray, I may be in way over my head but I think I can figure this out from the info you've given. The rope lights do not need to be on a 3 way. I actually bought two separate rope lights(one for each side thinking they would also have their own independently controlled switch). I just want what ever would be simplest for me to wire, while still allowing the overhead lights to each have their own controlled switch. Just thinking of the future, would it be possible to make this all capable of just plugging into the wall so it would be easy to move? Just curious. I may still have a lot of "googling" of terminology to do but these diagrams should really help me. Thanks
 
  #7  
Old 05-10-15, 03:05 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
The way I drew it would be simplest. Any questions just ask. The two sides are wired the same so I only drew one side.
 
  #8  
Old 05-10-15, 03:12 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
would it be possible to make this all capable of just plugging into the wall so it would be easy to move?
It's possible but with out UL approval your AHJ and/or insurance company might not approve of it.
 
  #9  
Old 06-02-15, 06:29 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Well my wife and I finally agreed on what lights to put on the headboard. I've wired one side completely and The bottom switch is controlling the headboard light and both outlets receptacles are continuously hot. One is not affected by the other switch. Any thoughts as to where I went wrong?
 
  #10  
Old 06-02-15, 06:37 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
and both outlets receptacles are continuously hot.
Did you remove the tab on the brass side of the receptacle.

Name:  BG.jpg
Views: 1820
Size:  33.0 KB

Name:  receptacle_tab.jpg
Views: 1789
Size:  18.5 KB
 
  #11  
Old 06-03-15, 02:41 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Yes, I broke the tab on the side with the black and red wire.
 
  #12  
Old 06-03-15, 02:50 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Are you sure the red and black wires are on the side of the switch with no tab? Post pictures of both sides of the switch with wires connected.
 
  #13  
Old 06-03-15, 03:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
right side of the outlet black and red
 
Attached Images  

Last edited by Ben Graham; 06-03-15 at 03:32 PM.
  #14  
Old 06-03-15, 03:06 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Attachment 51487 left side of the outlet white
 
  #15  
Old 06-03-15, 03:45 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
But I asked about the switch not the receptacle.
 
  #16  
Old 06-03-15, 03:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
Should the tab on the switch(same side) be broken as well?
 
  #17  
Old 06-03-15, 04:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
I just undid the wiring on the switch and flipped it 180 degrees and wired it back up so this top switch appropriately switches the top light. I think I had it upside down. Both plug ins are still both hot so I'm going to switch the black and red wire on the plug and hopefully I won't blow up
 
  #18  
Old 06-03-15, 04:51 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 9
All is GOOD Ray! The only thing I did different from your diagram was switch the black and red wires on the outlet. The double switch must have been "upside-down." I based right side up on the brand being readable upright. But everything seems to be good. I'll wire the other side and when the beds all done I'll post a short vid of everything working.
 
  #19  
Old 06-03-15, 05:46 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,664
Good, thanks for letting us know. Now you know duplex switches have no up or down. You connect based on the tab or a marked common screw (usually dark gray).
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'