Designing a surface mount parts power supply

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-13-15, 12:25 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Designing a surface mount parts power supply

hai every body, i need to construct an AC to DC converter.if possible without using a transformer.

here my input will be 220-250v 0.3amp AC
required outputs a) 12v 2amp 24w DC b) 12v 5amp 60W

if not possible without transformer circuit
 
  #2  
Old 05-13-15, 12:32 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Posts: 2
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
Moved from: http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...ing-ideas.html

i too need the answer for the same , is there any method to get 12vdc apart from using a transformer. i mean in a cost effective way
 

Last edited by ray2047; 05-13-15 at 01:58 PM.
  #3  
Old 05-13-15, 12:48 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
There is always a transformer. Even in a switching supply there is a transformer.... just smaller.
I wouldn't attempt to build a switching power supply based on the cost to buy one.

You need 12vdc at 2A and 12vac at 5A ?
 
  #4  
Old 05-13-15, 01:02 PM
B
Member
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New England
Posts: 10,524
Received 37 Votes on 34 Posts
One of the benefits of a transformer is safety, it isolates the ground between the circuit and the power source. Where what you are asking can be done, if you provide a bit more input power, as PJ says, why reinvent the wheel, there are already inexpensive boxes out there doing this.

Is there a reason you want or need to address this at the component level? What's your project?

Bud
 
  #5  
Old 05-13-15, 02:18 PM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
A transformer changes voltage levels in an AC circuit, which you need.

A rectifier then converts AC to DC, which you need.

Various other components smooth and condition the power so as to not damage the load components, which you probably need.

A DC power supply combines all of these functions. They are widely available and cheaper than the components it would take to make one.
 
  #6  
Old 05-15-15, 12:30 AM
A
Member
Join Date: May 2015
Location: India
Posts: 1
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
thank you pete ,bud ,ben .thanks for your reply.
the post is put by myself, actually i couldnt login coz i have no access to my mailID,i signed up previously using facebook,i have lost that mail ID. so please excuse

yes Mr.pete , i need to construct two devices to give outputs 12vdc at 2A and 12vac at 5A corespondingly.
Bud, would be grateful for a component level detailing.project is power source for LED strips.
Mr.Ben, i need to make it in bulk quantity and and i should ensure the safety of the load components.
could you guys please help me.
 
  #7  
Old 05-15-15, 12:55 AM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Northern NJ - USA
Posts: 60,773
Received 1,324 Votes on 1,224 Posts
You need to explain what you are doing. What is the project. You mentioned LED lighting.... is this for LED power ?

Many times a power supply is not incorporated IN a project but is kept separate.
If this is something your are planning to do in bulk quantities then you need to work directly with an engineering firm to have the power supply design to be compatible with the project as it sounds like you want to be using the same pc board.
 
  #8  
Old 05-15-15, 08:26 AM
I
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,943
Received 44 Votes on 42 Posts
Choose one of thousands: 12V DC Power Supply | eBay
 
  #9  
Old 05-16-15, 09:57 PM
Piddler's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: US
Posts: 109
Received 0 Votes on 0 Posts
You could use an AC voltage regulator to step it down and then rectify it. I'm not sure about their power handling capabilities.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: