meter to panel what is needed

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-18-15, 07:42 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 9
meter to panel what is needed

i live in iowa so the 2014 code is what i have to meet.
i'm only worried about getting from the meter to my panel right now.
electric company installed a meter with a 200 amp main breaker and 8 slots for breakers and it also has feed through lugs. i am hooking to the feed through lugs with 4/0,4/0,4/0,2/0 alum. since my house meeter will now be a feeder panel. most of my issues right now are to do with the conduit. the wire i have is rated for underground barriel. from what i can figure with the conduit fill stuff i need 3 inch conduit ? however my box at the pole and at the house only take 2.5 inch conduit. my home box is a QO 42 space 42 circuit. i was planning on running 3 inch conduit down past the 2 ft mark then stopping at the pole and the house. i'm waiting to hear back from the inspector now. but figured i'd try this to see what i can learn before i talk to him. will i need an expansion sleeve per code? this is an older home but the pole is new. maybe i am going overboard with the 3 inch conduit maybe i only need 2.5 inch. what is normally done?


thanks troy. and ya my spelling sucks
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-18-15, 07:58 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
Need a few more details on the layout. Where are all of the panels and meters located in terms of on poles, on building exteriors, or inside buildings? Which runs of wire are above ground, underground and through a building?

Normally with residential we would not use larger than 2.5" conduit, and even that would be rare compared to 2".
 
  #3  
Old 05-18-15, 08:16 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 9
meter panel is on the pole about 100ft from the house. the other panel will be inside on the basement wall. only a little over 2 ft will be underground at pole and at house. all will be schedule 80 pvc. so the wire will go down the pole a bit over 2 ft in conduit. then have no conduit over to the house then back up the house wall in conduit go in the floor joice and down into the breaker panel.
 
  #4  
Old 05-18-15, 10:56 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
Ok, 2.5" PVC conduit is the correct size for what you need to do here. In my opinion expansion joints are not required because this is not a "fully assembled" conduit system -- just sleeves for protection. The inspector of course might see it differently.

You may not be able to use URD (underground residential distribution) wire because that wire does not have a fire rating to enter the house, even for the short distance to the panel. You would need to use a USE-2 / RHW-2 / XHHW-2 wire instead which does have the fire rating. Check exactly which wire type you have.
 
  #5  
Old 05-18-15, 11:14 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 9
as far as conduit you pretty much just repeated what the inspector said when i talked to him. as far as my wire? he didn't flag anything when i told him what i was using.

Mobile Home Feeder

that is my wire.
 
  #6  
Old 05-18-15, 11:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,292
You're good to go with the Southwire MHF.
 
  #7  
Old 05-18-15, 11:40 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: usa
Posts: 9
awesome... thanks for the help. now on to my next problem
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'