Putting AFCI on old wireing

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-18-15, 01:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Putting AFCI on old wireing

I have an old house and most wiring has been replaced with ROMEX. Except there is one circuit that runs through the 2-stories that power with some lights and outlets. It is such old wiring that it doesn't even have a ground conductor. My question is, would it make sense to put in an AFCI breaker in to cover the circuit for safety?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-18-15, 01:15 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,506
Yes, that is a good idea. A better idea would be a combination AFCI/GFCI breaker which provides code-approved safety on ungrounded circuits.
 
  #3  
Old 05-25-15, 07:24 AM
KULTULZ's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: USA
Posts: 28
A better idea would be a combination AFCI/GFCI breaker which provides code-approved safety on ungrounded circuits.


...hmm...

Would this be acceptable procedure (if breakers are available for old panel) to temporarily update an older home (pre-1965) that has no grounding provisions until a power-up and rewire is done?
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes