Conduit capacity

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-15, 08:49 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Conduit capacity

Planning a future project... residential property ... North Carolina, USA.

How many 12/2 w/ground wires may share the same 2-inch PVC conduit?

Is it permissible to have one 12/2 w/ground and one 12/3 w/ground share the same 3/4-inch EMT conduit?


Daniel B. Martin
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-15, 09:01 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Best practice is to use individual conductors not cable in conduit. What is the job for which you are putting cables in conduit? How long is the conduit? Is it continuous or just a sleeve?
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-15, 09:08 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,594
Cable fill is based on the major diameter of the cable

Derating issues will arise with multiple cables in a conduit.
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-15, 09:13 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Near Lansing, Michigan
Posts: 10,515
Depends on how long the conduit is, where it is located and what those circuits are powering.
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-15, 09:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
What is the job for which you are putting cables in conduit?
I'll have five, possibly more, 12/2 with ground NM wires running from the load center to a gang of switches.

How long is the conduit?
Approximately 50 feet.

Is it continuous or just a sleeve?
Not continuous. I thought of using conduit as a raceway for convenience and appearance. This wiring will be in a large unfinished detached garage. Without conduit there will be a lot of staples and a lot of wires to collect cobwebs.

Daniel B. Martin
 
  #6  
Old 05-21-15, 09:22 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 33,055
Will there be a subpanel in the garage?
 
  #7  
Old 05-21-15, 09:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Depends on how long the conduit is, where it is located and what those circuits are powering.
50 feet, to power lights, ceiling fans, and convenience outlets. 20 amp branch circuits is over-engineering but that's how I do things.

Daniel B. Martin
 
  #8  
Old 05-21-15, 09:28 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 4
Will there be a subpanel in the garage?
Yes, 100 amps.

Daniel B. Martin
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes