Electrical for pool

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-21-15, 03:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 48
Electrical for pool

Hello all.

I am getting a new pool installed in the coming week, and want to get the electrical going before they get here. I currently have a Murray panel, 200amp service. My circuit panel is full, so I plan to move two single circuits over to a 20-30/30-20 quad tandem combined with my dryer (my panel accepts tandems). This frees up two poles for a 100 amp breaker.

I plan to install a 100 amp double pole breaker with four individual conductors, proper gauge, two blacks, one green, and one white in conduit. They will exit out of the back of panel, coming out of behind the panel to the outside (outdoor) wall into an elbow.. From there I will run a straight run of conduit fastened to house for about 10 feet, and this will run into a new 100 amp Murray sub panel with main breaker, 2 slot, 4 circuit panel. I will use one gfci breaker for the pool pump, and one gfci breaker for the deck electrical to be built at a later date.
Is there anything I should watch for or any advice for this project? I would bury the conductors in underground conduit, but since it is only a short length and only requires coming out the back of panel to the outside and down the wall a few feet I didn't bother.
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-21-15, 03:46 PM
JosiQDIY2015's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States of America
Posts: 126
Hi tbone87,

I plan to install a 100 amp double pole breaker with four individual conductors, proper gauge, two blacks, one green, and one white in conduit.
Which proper gauge will you use for each conductor?

What will be the size and material of the conduit?
 
  #3  
Old 05-21-15, 04:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 48
1/0 Stranded THHN Wire, 2-inch conduit PVC.

If possible, I'm trying to figure out if I should just fish romex up from main panel to attic, hop over 10 feet and back down wall through outside wall and install subpanel there. Would be cleaner. The electrical part of the job isn't what bothers me, its getting the wire to and from its destination in the hard spots. It's easy enough to just break through the back of the electrical panel and come outside there.
 
  #4  
Old 05-21-15, 04:10 PM
JosiQDIY2015's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: United States of America
Posts: 126
For a 100Amp Double Pole Breaker you can use #3 or #2 THHN cooper wires that are rated for around 90 to 100Amps. The conduit size and material is good.

You can use Romex from Main Panel to Attic, but at any segment where the Romex will be running at the exterior side of the wall (outdoor) that segment still needs to run inside a conduit, or it needs to be an UF-B (Underground Feeder) cable.

Thank you.

Jos
 
  #5  
Old 05-21-15, 04:14 PM
Tolyn Ironhand's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Twin Cities, MN
Posts: 11,981
1/0 is overkill for 100 amps. #3 THHN/THWN copper or #2 XHHW Aluminum will be fine. #8 copper or #6 aluminum is OK for your ground.
 
  #6  
Old 05-22-15, 06:52 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,357
Since this would be a feeder and not a branch circuit NM cannot be used. The ground needs to be insulated on a feeder. The interior portion can only be bare for a branch circuit.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'