Receptacle now "always on" after removing dimmer


  #1  
Old 05-22-15, 02:15 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Question Receptacle now "always on" after removing dimmer

Hey Guys,

I had a wall outlet that was controlled by a dimmer switch. I took the dimmer switch off (only a red and a black wire going to the dimmer) and replaced it with a single pole on/off switch. The red and black wire now go to each terminal on the new switch. Now the outlet is always on.

There are 3 wires coming into the box where I have the 2 switches. One switch is for the outside porch light and the other should go to the wall outlet that is now always on. The 3 neutral (white) wires are connected in the same wire nut, the ground wires are connected via copper clamp and then connected to the porch light switch that is working correctly.

Should I be wiring this switch for the outlet differently?
Thanks!
 
  #2  
Old 05-22-15, 02:20 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,587
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
Welcome to the forums.

How about if you disconnect the switch and just leave the wires unconnected.
What does the receptacle do then ?

You have three cables coming in correct ?
Probably 2) two wire cables and 1) three wire cable.
 
  #3  
Old 05-22-15, 02:32 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,056
Received 159 Upvotes on 145 Posts
Did you take any other splices apart in that box?
Geo
 
  #4  
Old 05-25-15, 02:21 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
yes, there are 2 - two wire cables and 1- 3 wire cable. the 3 wore cable was originally attached to the dimmer with the red and black wire. if i just disconnect those wires, the outlet is still "always on".
 
  #5  
Old 05-25-15, 02:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
What is the wiring at the receptacle? Is the brass tab on the receptacle broken?
 
  #6  
Old 05-25-15, 03:26 PM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 193 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Removing the dimmer should not have had any affect on the receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 05-25-15, 03:27 PM
Geochurchi's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Nov 2012
Posts: 5,056
Received 159 Upvotes on 145 Posts
Does the yes mean you took other splices apart in that box? If so it sounds like you have the black to the receptacle connected to the constant feed,if the Red goes to the receptacle then it could be a bad switch,though unusual.try what Pete suggested and see if the receptacle goes dead.
Geo
 
  #8  
Old 05-26-15, 04:36 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
The only thing I took apart was the old dimer and then tried hooking up the new switch. Another suggestion I had was about the ground wires. The 3 ground wires were connected via copper clamp and I took that apart to attach the ground wire from the 3 wire cable to the new switch.

There are 2 - 2 wire cables and those are connected at wire nuts then continued to my porch light switch. The porch light works fine with the switch. The 3 wire cable was only connected to the dimmer before, so that is why I am confused as to why it would be "always on" after just disconnecting the dimmer switch.
 
  #9  
Old 05-26-15, 04:52 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
The 3 ground wires were connected via copper clamp and I took that apart to attach the ground wire from the 3 wire cable to the new switch.
Ground wires are not a functioning part of the circuit. They do not affect it. Please post pictures of the connections at the receptacle and switch. http://www.doityourself.com/forum/li...rt-images.html
 
  #10  
Old 05-26-15, 04:58 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,587
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
The 3 wire cable was only connected to the dimmer before
What is or was the white wire doing in that cable ? (where is it connected)
 
  #11  
Old 05-26-15, 06:02 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
I'll post pictures later on this evening after work. But All 3 white wires are connected in the same wire nut.
 
  #12  
Old 05-27-15, 08:40 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
not sure why, but i can't upload any photos
 
  #13  
Old 05-27-15, 08:57 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Upload to an image sharing site and post the URLs.
 
  #14  
Old 05-27-15, 09:31 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
https://www.flickr.com/photos/133649.../shares/318o18

the black wire in the red, black, and white cable is the constant on, and is the one connected to the outlet that is always on. I'm not sure I'm understanding why the switch is not working to turn that outlet off. Do I need to break the tab on the outlet receptacle in order for the switch to work?
 
  #15  
Old 05-28-15, 02:40 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 13,970
Received 193 Upvotes on 169 Posts
Connect the red to the receptacle in place of the black.
 
  #16  
Old 05-28-15, 11:24 AM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
which receptacle? the switch or the outlet?
 
  #17  
Old 05-28-15, 12:13 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
A receptacle is a female device where plugs are inserted. An outlet is anywhere power is tapped such as a light or receptacle.
 
  #18  
Old 05-28-15, 05:10 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
can you explain in further detail please? all i know is what i see there. the wires that are coming into the box and those are attached to either switches or outlets where plugs go into. sorry for the simplistic view im coming from.
 
  #19  
Old 05-28-15, 07:05 PM
PJmax's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Jersey
Posts: 64,587
Received 3,880 Upvotes on 3,477 Posts
On the hot (brass) side of the receptacle you have a black wire on the bottom and a red on the top. In order for the top receptacle to be switched the bridging clip must be removed on the brass side separating the red and black connection.

Name:  18184234571_563f92ee1d.jpg
Views: 138
Size:  45.5 KB
 
  #20  
Old 05-28-15, 09:09 PM
S
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2015
Location: USA
Posts: 9
Upvotes: 0
Received 0 Upvotes on 0 Posts
Thank you PJ! it is the way I want it now. I appreciate everyone's help in here!
 
  #21  
Old 05-28-15, 09:36 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 29,711
Upvotes: 0
Received 15 Upvotes on 13 Posts
Thanks for letting us know you got it.
 
 

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
Ask a Question
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: