Adding new bathroom to house

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-24-15, 11:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 163
Adding new bathroom to house

I have two existing bathrooms in my 1975 house. Each bathroom has 2 lights, a fan, and a receptacle. These two bathrooms are on a single 15A circuit. (Maybe this is no longer in code?)

I'm converting a closet to a full bath. It will also have 2 lights, a fan, and a receptacle. It would be very easy to wire the new receptacle to the existing 15A bathroom circuit and leave the lights and fan on another circuit. Is this allowed?
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-24-15, 11:51 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
The lights can go on the existing 15 amp circuit if there is capacity. The receptacle should be on a new 20 amp circuit.

The 20 amp circuit can also power the lights and fan if it only servers one bathroom.
 
  #3  
Old 05-24-15, 12:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 163
So, you would recommend leaving the existing 2 bathrooms (lights, fan, receptacles) on the existing 15A circuit and install a new 20A circuit for the new bathroom? While I'm at it, should I go ahead and split the two existing bathrooms into individual 15A circuits to bring them up to code?

I might hire an electrician to do this work. I have an old Federal Pacific breaker box that I know I need to replace anyway.
 
  #4  
Old 05-24-15, 01:24 PM
Member
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Louisville KY
Posts: 563
Splitting the two existing bathrooms up to 2, 15 amp circuits would not have them meet code. This you have problems with them I would probably just leave them how they are. The new code requires that a bathroom have a 20 amp circuit for the receptacle(s) which may be shared with the lighting and fan in that bathroom but with no other room.
 
  #5  
Old 05-24-15, 01:27 PM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
While I'm at it, should I go ahead and split the two existing bathrooms into individual 15A circuits to bring them up to code?
No, 20 amp not 15 is code for receptacles. If you leave the lights on the 15 amp circuit and move the receptacles to a new dedicated 20a GFCI protected circuit they can share one 20a circuit.
 
  #6  
Old 05-25-15, 06:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: USA
Posts: 163
Are you saying that I'm not allowed to split the existing bathrooms into two 15A circuits because it wouldn't pass an inspection? Does that also mean a licensed electrician could not do that work? In that case, I'll leave it as it is. One bathroom is extremely tough to access, and it would be difficult to run a lower gauge wire just for the receptacle.
 
  #7  
Old 05-25-15, 07:01 AM
pcboss's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Maryland
Posts: 14,354
New work needs to meet the current code requirements. It would not matter who did the work. The requirements are the same.

Smaller number wire gauges are larger sizes.
 
  #8  
Old 05-25-15, 08:48 AM
ray2047's Avatar
Group Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 32,643
it would be difficult to run a lower gauge wire just for the receptacle
It would be a larger gauge wire. Writing lower confuses the issue.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
'